Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Firefox and Barclays

Highlighted
Moderator Moderator
Posts: 12,591
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Firefox and Barclays

Not sure whether this should be in Windows Software or here Undecided
Rather strange but I cannot access Barclays online banking through FF this morning - I just keep getting 'A connection was reset error'.
Checked it with IE9 and Chrome and I get the login page without problem.
I was able to login last night and no changes have been made my end since then. Anyone else with Barclays getting the same error with FF?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

16 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,522
Thanks: 59
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Quote
Anyone else with Barclays getting the same error with FF?

Not Barclays, but I've always had issues with the M&S Money secure site and FF. Works fine with Opera, can't say about IE since it don't work on my Ubuntu systems Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,248
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

I just tried FF on Ubuntu, and found that the main http://www.barclays.co.uk page seems to load quite slowly, and seems to drop the occasional 'panel' or 'frame'.
However, clicking on the 'Online Banking' and going to the login pages works very quickly.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,006
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Works for me on Firefox, but very slow loading up, even slower though on Internet Explorer 8.
Moderator Moderator
Posts: 12,591
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Barclays home page is fast to load and I finally managed to get the login page but that was extremely slow to load.
Took two attempts to login and pages were extremely slow then it just logged me out with a message that the website is currently unavailable Sad

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,248
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Just tried again and now the 'Online Banking' login page is really struggling !  Undecided
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,006
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Seems to be working OK now.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,248
Thanks: 113
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Just tried again, the home page is still slow and dropping 'panels' but just about working.
However going to the login page shows -
Moderator Moderator
Posts: 12,591
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Still slow in loading but did log in again.
But as soon as I tried to access a statement I got the follwoing:
Quote
Sorry - we have had to log you out of Online Banking because you did not use the service for more than 10 minutes. Please enter your membership number below, and select the 'next' button to log in again.

I had only been logged in for around 30 seconds!

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Login loads, but slowly for me using Chrome.
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎11-05-2010

Re: Firefox and Barclays

What's the MTU set to on both the router and the network adapter your connecting through?
If the packets are fragmented too much certain sites can't be accessed.
Moderator Moderator
Posts: 12,591
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Seems ok here now...
Maybe just a temporary blip at Barclays?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Grafter
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎30-12-2010

Re: Firefox and Barclays

Hi there,
Barclays hasn't revamped their online banking site recently, have they?
Nationwide has and they warn me every time I try to log-on that my browser (FF 3.6.23) may not display correctly.  I have currently queried which browsers are supported by their re-vamped internet banking site.
Having said that I can manage to log on etc., but noticed that display is much slower and jerky.
I am awaiting their response.
Hope this helps clarifying your situation.
Many regards,
Chandu.
Community Veteran
Posts: 36,807
Thanks: 298
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

I don't have any problems with Nationwide using Firefox 7 although I noted that they say that the website login will be changing in the near future
Moderator Moderator
Posts: 12,591
Thanks: 317
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Firefox and Barclays

[
Quote from: chandu
Barclays hasn't revamped their online banking site recently, have they?

Actually they have been rolling out a new look banking site. So far I am yet to see it - still the same old login method and look to the site.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still