cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre woes with TG582n router

chrisdadd
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 01-05-2013

Fibre woes with TG582n router

Hi there
I have the following router. It keeps dropping the connection and yet my openreach box appears to still show the dsl light. I didn't think this router was even properly designed for fibre connections. After an initial connection the performance is ok, then gradually ping tests degrade to become 10 times slower (within 30minutes typically). It's driving me nuts.
Product Name: TG582n
Software Release: 10.2.2.9
I read this post but not sure whether to upgrade my firmware or not. Will it fix the issue and if so, which of the firmwares should I install?
http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,118904.0.html/
Thanks
Chris
5 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,017
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 48
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Fibre woes with TG582n router

Hi there,
Sorry to hear about the issue, it is possible to take the router out of the equation and connect directly to the modem:
You might want to try that but this does look like it could be a fault: http://community.plus.net/library/broadband/fibre-help-how-to-set-up-a-pppoe-dialler-in-vistawindows...
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13935016613581.png"/>
Either way I'd advise running through the troubleshooter at http://faults.plus.net
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
chrisdadd
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 01-05-2013

Re: Fibre woes with TG582n router

OK thanks. I'm going to try that next. Where can I find my dialup username/password? I haven't had to use it since setting up originally.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,656
Registered: 13-06-2007

Re: Fibre woes with TG582n router

You can find them in https://portal.plus.net/my.html?s=0&action=refresh_browser
username@plusdsl.net
normal password
chrisdadd
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 01-05-2013

Re: Fibre woes with TG582n router

I've now connected directly to the Open Reach modem using the technique you described. Very handy to know this is possible and something I think you should make more visible in troubleshooting (perhaps I looked in the wrong place).
What have I discovered?
Well, the latency via the modem directly was lower, although the overall download/upload speeds were fairly similar - with a LAN cable from modem to laptop or going from router to laptop I can get about 60Mbps down and 12 up. Also when I ran ping tests the time only varied by 1ms (32/33ms) over a few minutes when using the modem directly, whereas with the router it varies by 500%-3000% on every ping.
I also noticed that when the router was left alone all night (except for cloud sync stuff) it didn't degrade to the point of needing a reboot. Whereas, now that I'm throwing traffic at it again, it's noticeably getting flaky; I think I'll have to disconnect/reconnect within the hour. A ping to yahoo.com is going from 32ms to 2700ms!!
I wondered whether it could be a heat issue as both the openreach box and the Technicolor router do get very warm - in fact the BT guy was very worried that I had them sat on carpet as he thinks they're a FIRE HAZARD! So I have stood them against a wall to vent upwards now. But honestly they don't feel hot enough to catch fire or degrade performance like this.
What do you suggest next?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,017
Thanks: 145
Fixes: 48
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Fibre woes with TG582n router

Hi chrisdadd,
Sorry for the late reply to your questions and thanks for trying that.
I can see you've since raised a fault and an engineer went out yesterday.
It looks like the connection is stable now but let me know if you start to have any issues again.

Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team