cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!

les37b
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 26-12-2012

Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!

How accurate are the pre install speed tests?
I did it for my address and got a reading of 67Mb. After successive tests and reconfirmed by Sales of 67Mb, my order was placed.
It went through OK, then I received an email saying my expected line speed is 40Mb!
Is this normal sales tactics or a genuine mistake?
7 REPLIES
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!

Hi les37b,
Your line is capable of 66.8Mbps, the email we sent you appears to have been an error stating 40Mbps. I'll have a look into this why, but please rest-assured that your line is capable of the 66.8Mbps.
Chris
les37b
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 26-12-2012

Re: Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!


OK thanks Chris.
I did ring and get told this in the end. Just seems really odd - and worrying at the same time! More a case of wondering if its a common thing!
adie:quote
Exdee
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 27-12-2012

Re: Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!

What a coincidence. I have been estimated the same speed too. I hope I can get more since I am less than a 100 meters away from the fibre cabinet. But 67 MB is pretty cool for a start. When's your installation due les37b?
les37b
Grafter
Posts: 75
Registered: 26-12-2012

Re: Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!


I'm about 1km from the exchange, so very happy to get that quote.
Installation hasnt been confirmed yet (I only did the order yesterday) but I've put it forward for 14-16 January. (Im in no hurry!)
adie:quote
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!

Just to let you know that we're aware of this problem and we're investigating the cause. Problem #73879 is currently open for this.
Exdee
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 27-12-2012

Re: Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!

Quote from: les37b

I'm about 1km from the exchange, so very happy to get that quote.
Installation hasnt been confirmed yet (I only did the order yesterday) but I've put it forward for 14-16 January. (Im in no hurry!)

I ordered yesterday too and have been given an installation date of 15th January. Looks like we might get activated around the same time.  Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,744
Thanks: 250
Fixes: 20
Registered: 16-02-2009

Re: Fibre speeds when registering said 67Mb..... and now!!!

With fibre it is the distance from the CABINET not the exchange that matters.
I am about 70-100M from my cabinet and get ~72Mb (varies from day to day, down to 70 up to 75 Cheesy) But a lot better than 6 on adsl. Grin