cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre slower than copper

Innovations
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 06-08-2007

Fibre slower than copper

I proudly signed up for fibre and it arrived today.
I was supposed to be getting 28 Mb. I was a bit worried about what I might use that for. If you're in the same boat, fret not. If you're like me you'll be getting 2 - 6 Mb.
Maybe this will change in due course. I do think Plusnet should advise its customers better.
If you're thinking "I'm not going to waste my time getting a line slower than I've already got (and at the expense of an extra box/plug to connect)", the engineer suggested you'll have to move soon anyway. They'll decommision the old ADSL lines.
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Fibre slower than copper

Do the obvious checks
BT speedtester - Further diagnostics
Plusnet Current Line Speed https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Innovations
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Fibre slower than copper

The BT test said :
Download speedachieved during the test was - 2.24 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 21.78 Mbps-31.11 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 31.11 Mbps
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 3.87Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 10 Mbps
Do I wait or should I raise a ticket?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Fibre slower than copper

what is the Plusnet current line speed and were those results wired or wireless
Innovations
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Fibre slower than copper

I've just re-run the test connected by wire. I get:
2.4 on Plusnet's checker (OKLA?)
9.1 on BroadbandSpeedTest
30 on the BT site
The Current Line speed shown in the Member Centre High Speed Broadband is 37.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,487
Thanks: 248
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Fibre slower than copper

Hi there,
Diagnostics aren't showing me any other issues I'm afraid.
I'd advise raising a fault: http://faults.plus.net
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Innovations
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Fibre slower than copper

I think this whole thing is disappointing.
The engineer wasn't properly briefed about how Plusnet work. He left my property when the bandwith was much less than expected, saying it might improve; if not ring Plusnet. Plusnet have made no attempt to check that the installation was successful.
This is a bit like the old days of British Leyland - let the customers do the quality control.
As things stand I am sitting here with 2.347 download yet 5.444 upload, so we know you can't blame the WiFi alone on that pointless speed.
I'll raise a ticket, but this isn't really how it should happen.
gnicholson8
Grafter
Posts: 319
Registered: 06-11-2013

Re: Fibre slower than copper

Quote from: Innovations
I've just re-run the test connected by wire. I get:
2.4 on Plusnet's checker (OKLA?)
9.1 on BroadbandSpeedTest
30 on the BT site
The Current Line speed shown in the Member Centre High Speed Broadband is 37.


Hang on, but you just said you're getting 30Mbps on the BT website?
Innovations
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 06-08-2007

Re: Fibre slower than copper

BT is showing 7,55 at the moment. Plusnet is showing 3.7
One issue is maybe the Plusnet speed checker is not working properly. If that is the case, then can I suggest you remove it?
I don't understand why these figures keep bouncing around. It would be helpful if Plusnet briefed customers a bit better about how speeds will be established after connection. It would be useful if there were some test that BT or Plus do after installation to check things are progressing as intended. When I had a line fault earlier this year, the engineer tested the line with a connection to BT. It was faster than Plus because I understand you throttle bandwith to an extent. Nevertheless it was a test. This time the engineer just looked at my computers and didn't have any pass/fail figure. He was helpful enough but with 8 calls to squeeze into his day, he was never going to delve deeply.
I guess I'll have to keep checking; see if a pattern emerges.