cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre line training

reece251
Grafter
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎19-03-2013

Fibre line training

Hi All,
Ive just moved home and had a new fibre line installed today. I am not getting the speeds I am expecting which is understandable on an adsl connection. I am not aware of any 'training' period on a fibre line but I could be wrong.
Any thoughts?
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,656
Registered: ‎13-06-2007

Re: Fibre line training

What speeds should you be expecting? You can get your profile on https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Can you also run a speedtest on http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest.html?utm_source=mainsite&utm_medium=navigation&utm_campaign=...
And are you running speediest wired or wireless?
reece251
Grafter
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎19-03-2013

Re: Fibre line training

Here are my results. I am connected wired directly from the openreach modem. Speedtest.net gave me results of about 11mb but I should be getting about 75-80
<a href="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=139518052388588413153"><img alt="My Broadband Speed Test" src="http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/button/139518052388588413153-mini.png" /></a>
reece251
Grafter
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎19-03-2013

Re: Fibre line training

Estimated line speed:
77Mb
Current line speed:
78 Mb
reece251
Grafter
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎19-03-2013

Re: Fibre line training

well something has changed from when I tried earlier. Its still not what im expecting but i suppose a drop of about 10mb is expected
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3379959242
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,656
Registered: ‎13-06-2007

Re: Fibre line training

It's not far off, I'd give it a few days with no reboots or anything just to let it stabilise and all the profiles to configure