cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre line problems

mckerlie676
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 28-01-2011

Fibre line problems

I've had FTTC  installed for about a month now and everything started great. My speed started to fall last week  and the errors on the line went through the roof. I raised a fault and an engineer attended yesterday. He confirmed that the problem lies in a wire junction and the joints are old and all need replacing but it's down to bt to do that. He said he cleaned things up and hopefully that would help. He did not complete a DLM reset and now my connection is even worse. The interleaving level has been increased and interleaving has now been applied on the upstream too. What can I do as this problem isn't going to go away until BT do something with the joints. My connection is unreliable and I just wish they would sort out the issue with the lines.
Any ideas on what can be done? It's also affecting my neighbour who is a plusnet fibre customer.
7 REPLIES
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Fibre line problems

Hi mckerlie676,
I'm really sorry to hear that you're seeing speed issues and also that the engineer who attended, didn't address the copper line issues he uncovered. He most definitely should have referred this back on the fault if this was something he wasn't trained to do and this would have despatched the correct engineer to carry out the work.
I can see that your fault ticket is still open so I've made sure that the latests tests have been done and I'll give this a nudge for you so that it is passed back and further diagnostics/works are carried out by the supplier. If you keep an eye on the support ticket, you should see the results of the tests and the next course of action within the next 24 hours.
mckerlie676
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 28-01-2011

Re: Fibre line problems

Thanks Adam, I shall keep my eye on the ticket. I just wish I could have the speeds back that I have on the test in my signature  Smiley
From what the engineer said there have been lots of recent call outs in the area and he said the whole cable run from the underground junction box at the end of the road - to the cabinet needs replacing. I wonder how many faults needs to be raised before BT do anything?
thanks again
mckerlie676
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 28-01-2011

Re: Fibre line problems

Hi Adam
Further to the above I have just had a call from plusnet. The engineer has submitted a report advising that the fault has been cleared and this was demod to me - which was not the case. The engineer didn't even return to the house after completing work at the distribution point and cabinet. Also the engineer has not noted the problem he informed me about with the state of the wires and joints at the distribution point and that he recommended them to be replaced - how will this ever happen if it's not placed on the notes?
Your colleague from plusnet also informed me that engineers don't reset lines on fibre  and the engineer won't have done this- which is not the case as there are many posts referring to DLM RESETS on these forums. I was also told that I should only ever be concerned with triple digit ping times and anything in double digits is fine?? And that as far as he is concerned there is no fault but will raise it back to bt anyway. He also said that 4 re syncs per day is acceptable?
How could there not be a problem when the line now performs worse than it did before the engineer came ? I have been able to access the modem stats and the interleaving levels have increased as well as it now being applied on upstream and INP has increased too. There is definitely something strange going on
Can you please look into it for me as I have more faith in the forum staff to help me with this :-)
mckerlie676
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 28-01-2011

Re: Fibre line problems

I appreciate it's now 5pm Friday and won't get a reply over the weekend, but when you see this are you able to give any update Adam? Thanks
Acassim
Grafter
Posts: 1,075
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-06-2007

Re: Fibre line problems

Hi again mckerlie676,
Sorry for the delay in responding to this one for you.
From checking your account I can see that the ticket is in the correct department and in the correct state for this to be further progressed for you so hopefully we should see some testing returned from BT off the back of your latest update. I'm still very sorry that the initial engineer didn't resolve the issue for you, it is most definitely not a good experience you've had with this particular chap so please accept our apologies for this.
With regards to the DLM reset, this should take place at the end of a fault being cleared as this can only be done by someone at the actual exchange at the moment (there isn't a remote tool for this at the minute although it is being worked on).
I would hope to see another engineer appointment booked for you as soon as the latest details come back and with any luck, you have the joints replaced and the speeds will be restored with a quick DLM reset.
mckerlie676
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 28-01-2011

Re: Fibre line problems

Thanks again Adam. It seems I am getting quite a few line errors now with ES and SES. I did a ping graph too which doesn't look great.
Appointment booked for BT engineer again. I've attached the ping graphs - what are your thoughts?
mckerlie676
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Registered: 28-01-2011

Re: Fibre line problems

Well BT have been working on the poles and manholes in the area all week, as a result my connection has been up and down regularly - due to this DLM has applied a banded profile and increased interleaving even further. Engineer came out today (for previous fault raised) and couldn't find a fault and refused to perform a DLM reset as he feels that 35mb is the maximum the line can support and that this is BT's estimate. I know this is rubbish as I has a stable connection at 65mb only a few weeks a go. I am stuck now as it could take months for DLM to increase my speeds and I am paying for fibre extra for nothing at the moment.
[tt]BusyBox v1.9.1 (2014-01-21 16:44:38 CST) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
# xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 20405 Kbps, Downstream rate = 61936 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 14999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 38097 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 7.9 7.4
Attn(dB): 19.5 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 13.1 7.4
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 18 42
B: 24 23
M: 1 1
T: 64 64
R: 16 8
S: 0.0209 0.0508
L: 15720 5039
D: 1966 631
I: 41 32
N: 41 32
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 581830 179851
OHFErr: 0 0
RS: 223233825 1848488
RSCorr: 11495 3175
RSUnCorr: 0 0
Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 85694534 0
Data Cells: 276628 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 26 26
AS: 1170
Bearer 0
INP: 8.00 4.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 10 8
PER: 2.01 6.52
OR: 95.48 58.82
AgR: 38192.27 15058.17
Bitswap: 729/730 14/14
Total time = 19 min 56 sec
FEC: 11495 3175
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 26 26
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 56 sec
FEC: 491 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 11004 3175
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 26 26
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 19 min 56 sec
FEC: 11495 3175
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 26 26
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
FEC: 0 0
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 19 min 29 sec
FEC: 11495 3175
CRC: 0 0
ES: 0 0
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
# [/tt]
I am considering downgrading from fibre extra until the line stabilises and DLM increases my profile and reduces interleaving, then returning to fibre extra at a later date - but I would like to do this under the retention deal I was given when placing my fibre order.
I also raised a complaint by ticket on the 9th September regarding a different issue surrounding my contract length being incorrect and this has not been acknowledged or replied to.
I appreciate that the PlusNet staff do not work these forums on a weekend but if someone could look into the above for me I would appreciate it.