cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre available now ??

tailendcharlie
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 09-11-2011

Fibre available now ??

I've checked my postcode with broadband checker and it shows 16, 38 and 76Mb available at my location.
But there is no option to upgrade my account here on Plusnet atm....
Can someone confirm fibre is available ?Huh
Cheers, Rob.
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Fibre available now ??

Can you put your number in here http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ and post the results?
caravanj
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 218
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2014

Re: Fibre available now ??

I've got a similar query so I thought I'd use this existing thread rather than start a duplicate one.
This is the checker result for my number but although the exchange is fibre enabled, I'm not sure whether the cabinet is.
The checker shows WBC ADSL2+ with download speeds of 2.5 to 6.5.
I assume it would say FTTC if it was.
Although I live in a town it's like living in the sticks with even an average mobile signal of -107dDm or an absolute maximum of
-99dBm on a good day.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Fibre available now ??

Yeah - the checker will show FTTC and estimated speeds if it's available.
The checker will tell you which cabinet you're connected to and it should give an estimated date for FTTC (if your cabinet is due to be upgraded in the next couple of months).
caravanj
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 218
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2014

Re: Fibre available now ??

It's cabinet 1 but it doesn't show an FTTC date so I guess it won't be happening any time soon.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Fibre available now ??

Which exchange are you on?
caravanj
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 218
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2014

Re: Fibre available now ??

Gainsborough in Lincolnshire.
I'm happy with the service we're getting from Plusnet & the ADSL speeds which are 4.5 down & 0.89 up & are very stable.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Fibre available now ??

It looks like your area is set to be upgraded to fibre in the second half of next year - http://www.onlincolnshire.org/cms/cms_files/Phase-7-Map.pdf
caravanj
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 218
Thanks: 37
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2014

Re: Fibre available now ??

Thanks Andy, that's good to know.
tailendcharlie
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: 09-11-2011

Re: Fibre available now ??

OK, I've just checked with Openreach and I live in an Enabled Area for fibre but the cabinet I'm connected to isn't ready yet. So sit and wait  Wink
Thanks for the info guys.