cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre Question

mrmarkus1981
Grafter
Posts: 647
Registered: 26-02-2008

Fibre Question

Evening all
Any reason why i cannot get fibre broadband at my home address but my old man can?
He's 100m up the road from me!
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,656
Registered: 13-06-2007

Re: Fibre Question

Probably on a different cabinet which has been upgraded. Or you might be on a totally different exchange!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Fibre Question

Hi mrmarkus1981,
I've checked for you and FTTC is showing as unavailable on our systems. I've emailed our suppliers to have them investigate this further for me but there's no guarantee they'll be able to provide me with any more information than what's available on our systems.
As buntrob has stated, your father may be connected to a different cabinet/exchange and this is why it's available to him.
I'll pop an update on here once I've had a response from our suppliers.
mrmarkus1981
Grafter
Posts: 647
Registered: 26-02-2008

Re: Fibre Question

Thanks Linn
I've since noticed that various streets surrounding mine have been done but i am still waiting. I'm just jealous as i WANT it and cant have it Cheesy
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Fibre Question

Hi there,
I've had a reply from our suppliers and unfortunately they confirmed my findings earlier that FTTC is not available on your line. They are unable to inform me when this will become available as it's currently not planned.
Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. Sad
mrmarkus1981
Grafter
Posts: 647
Registered: 26-02-2008

Re: Fibre Question

Any news yet?  Undecided
Cruise85
Grafter
Posts: 105
Registered: 05-08-2014

Re: Fibre Question

Hi.
Sorry to again be the bearer of bad news, but unfortunately Openreach have still given us no indication as to when your cabinet will be upgraded to fibre.
Its always worth checking the link below which usually gives a very accurate description of what is available on your line 
http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome