cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Khrusky
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-02-2013

Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Sorry to post a thread for just my request on an issue that has come up a lot, but there doesn't seem to have been any centralised place for this.
According to the btwholesale speed-checker the line profile is 38.71 down and 10 up, when http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome says that I (my phone line) could get 80/20 for FTTC (well, 76.9/20).
(The actual speed I'm getting at the moment on the speed-checker, while the broadband is in use by other programs and users, is 36.34, (94% of the IP profile) suggesting to me that there is room to grow)
When I was placing the order it also said that I could get (up to) 78Mb/s . I'm on Fibre Unlimited, so I am on the correct package for 80/20.
I understand this is a common issue so I just wanted to check if this was just another instance of this problem?
I'm also aware that it might simply be fixed automatically tomorrow, and sorry for being a little impatient if this is so. I just wanted to be sure  Wink
Hopefully I can get back tomorrow afternoon to the full wonder of fibre broadband  Grin
21 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,316
Thanks: 1,663
Fixes: 183
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

if you've been put on the wrong product then an order will have to be placed for it to change which takes a day or so I believe.
You can either ring PN or hopefully it will be picked up from here in due course, as it does sound like it's been incorrectly provisioned.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,224
Thanks: 966
Fixes: 81
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Hi there,
Sorry about this. It's part of a known problem that's since been fixed (ref: 7416Cool. A number of automated orders were incorrectly placed on 40/10 rather than 80/20. I'll get an order placed now to correct this. It should complete tomorrow at some point ...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

jeeves555
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Hi there, sorry to hijack this existing thread but I have the same problem I think! I did put a support question in (number 65321884) on Saturday but I think it'll be quicker to get a reply here.
Thanks
Khrusky
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 03-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Thanks Bob  Smiley
Just to say, on https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed it has now updated to show that my line speed is definitely 78Mb/s.
I'll look forward to seeing it transmute into download speed  Grin
xelap
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Quote from: Bob
Hi there,
Sorry about this. It's part of a known problem that's since been fixed (ref: 7416Cool. A number of automated orders were incorrectly placed on 40/10 rather than 80/20. I'll get an order placed now to correct this. It should complete tomorrow at some point ...

Would also like to add that I seem to have been placed on 40/10 instead of 80/20.
Thanks
ankle0lock
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

I have also been placed on 40/10 fibre instead of 80/20.
please can you rectify?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Hi xelap,
Just placed the modify for you, should complete tomorrow.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Hi ankle0lock, not sure why you'd think that as you're definitely on the faster service according to our suppliers' site? It's also set as such on your account so let us know if you're not seeing those sorts of speeds.
ankle0lock
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20


Hi Matt
I'm getting this from my account speed estimates. According to the below records taken from my account this morning the max speed theoretical speed I can obtain is 40Mb of which I actually get 36Mb when I run a connected speed test via Ethernet cable.
However if then check the theoretical speeds on BT website the max I should get on my line is actually 67MB. If this is the case why is the estimate line speed on my account only 40Mb? Shouldn't this be approx. 67Mb?
Estimated line speed:40Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit)  - Checked on 2013-01-04 09:47:57
Current line speed:37 Mb
If you're saying the max theoretical speed I can get is only 40Mb why I am I paying for 76Mb - surely I would be better off with 38Mb?
Please advise?
snailspace171
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

How can I check if I have been placed on the correct one?
I only joined up today but it says this:
Estimated line speed:
51Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2013-01-24 19:07:14
Current line speed:
37 Mb
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,316
Thanks: 1,663
Fixes: 183
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

you need to see if you've been provisioned on the right product, you could give them a call or wait until one of the staffers picks it up tomorrow.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

tgheretford
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

Don't wish to also be that person to hijack a thread too, but rather than create another new one, I too would also like to confirm that I have also been placed on 40/10 instead of 80/20.
Hopefully everyone else whom also have the same problem and hasn't twigged onto it yet will also see their profiles corrected.
grex
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 26-01-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

I looked at my tickets in support. you will find one that tells you what order has been placed. otherwise you will have to wait until it installed and do a BT test.
https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=search
snailspace171
Grafter
Posts: 50
Registered: 04-02-2013

Re: Fibre Profile - 40/10 where it should be 80/20

its already installed.
how do I do a BT test that will tell me?