cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fault with my parent's broadband

JEB
Grafter
Posts: 262
Registered: 01-09-2007

Fault with my parent's broadband


My parent's broadband has slowed to a crawl as will be obvious for the router stats I have posted below.  The upstream is actually faster than the downstream and there are a huge number of errors.  From memory the downstream used to be in excess of 4 Mbps, as oppose to the current 239 Kbps.
I have tried the usual things - the test socket etc.
There is intermittent noise on the line and I did arrange for a BT engineer to visit on this basis but unfortunately when he visited he found nothing wrong.  I know I could arrange another visit but I just know when the engineer visits the phone will be behaving.  Is there any way we can raise this as a broadband fault?  If someone from Plus could take ownership of this it would mean a great deal to me.
My parents are the only referral on my account or I can PM their username if that is easier.

Thanks

James
------------------
Line Mode ADSL2+   Line State Show Time
Latency Type Interleave    Line Up Time 00:00:23:30
Line Coding Trellis Off   Line Up Count 1
Line Power State L0      

Statistics Downstream Upstream
Line Rate 239 Kbps 882 Kbps
Noise Margin 25.5 dB 8.9 dB
Line Attenuation 43.0 dB 22.0 dB
Output Power 11.7 dBm 12.6 dBm
MSGC (number in overhead channel data) 11 29
B (number of bytes in Mux Frame) 14 31
M (number of Mux Frames in FEC Frame) 1 4
T (Mux Frames over sync bytes) 2 2
R (number of check bytes in FEC Frame) 16 8
S (ratio of FEC over PMD Frame length) 1.9375 4.5714
L (number of bits in PMD Frame) 128 238
D (interleaver depth) 16 2
Super Frames 85598  85596 
Super Frame Errors 0  86799 
RS Words 2910360  1455132 
RS Correctable Errors 39  12469 
RS Uncorrectable Errors 0  0 
HEC Errors 0  0 
OCD Errors 0  0 
LCD Errors 0  0 
ES Errors 0  0

19 REPLIES
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

Hi James,
the most obvious thing I can see from the router stats is that the SNR is really high on the downstream. This will be keeping the sync rate down. Putting it in the test socket won't make any difference unless that SNR was to change. Does the noise happen when the phone is plugged into the test socket? Is the phone corded or cordless?
I would suggest once you have tried that you should then change the filter and plug it into the test socket I could reset it and see how we get on. If it happens again while in the test socket I'd certainly get them to rise a fault.
Jojo Smiley
JEB
Grafter
Posts: 262
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband


Hi Jojo
Thanks for the response  Smiley
The noise is intermittent and happens even in the test socket.  My parents have both cordless and corded phones and I made sure I tried them both so as to eliminate the possibility that the noise was just down to the cordless phone. 
I had ADSL installed at my parent's house when I was still living at home and broadband was first released back in the days when it was engineer install only.  So they have the original engineer installed filtered faceplate.  I'll be round there on Sunday so can stick the router in the test socket with a spare filter if you want, or given the fact that it's already in a proper BT filter faceplate is it worth you doing a reset now?

James


jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

Hi James,
it's not unheard of for a faceplate to cause issues. Also, any extensions will be connected to the faceplate, so it's worth looking to see what's attached to the back of it. I woul;dn't reset it while it's in the front because once I've done it we can't do it again for at least 10 days.
Jojo Smiley
JEB
Grafter
Posts: 262
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

Hi Jojo

Hope you had a good weekend.
I connected the router into the test socket when I was round at my parents yesterday.  However I realised there was a  problem as if I left it connected that way the only telephone that would work in the house would be the one in the test socket along with the router.  Given where the computer is located my parents would be unlikely to hear the phone ringing and hence I had to take everything out of the test socket.
Even when I had the router in the test socket the stats were just as bad as the other ones I posted and the connection kept resyncing every couple of minutes.  I have told my parents to leave the router on permanently as usually they only turn it on when they are using the computer. 
Could you check if the connection has been stable since yesterday as I suspect it will have been yo-yoing up and down?  If it has been stable could you proceed with the reset to see if that helps, otherwise if the connection hasn't been stable would it be better to arrange an engineer as I'm sure my parents have a fault?

Thanks

James
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

Hi JEB,
It looks like it's been a lot better since yesterday:
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13382129315980.png" />
Only a couple of drops this morning, though I can see that from the automated checks on the ticket the systems think it's a fault with the phone - is there noise on the line even in the test socket?
I have to say I'm not convinced it's quite stable enough for an SNR reset yet but if you think it'd be worth it I'll reconsider... I'd prefer to wait until there's been a good period with no drops though.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

Internal wiring needs checking as well, I'd still remove all wires from terminals other than 2 & 5, filtered faceplate or not.
JEB
Grafter
Posts: 262
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband


@Matt
Thanks for checking.  Yes there is noise on the phone even when it's in the test socket.  I have had BT around  once for my parents but the noise is intermittent and the engineer couldn't find anything wrong.  Given the router stats clearly show something serious is going on I was hoping we could move this forward as a broadband fault.  In addition if Plus is managing things I have confidence that the problem will be fixed.
I appreciate your point about the line not being stable for enough time yet. But as the downstream is under 300Kbps (as oppose to over 4Mbps when everything was working) something seems to be broken with the line!  I'm happy to take your advice though if you think it is best to leave it for a few days to see if it recovers before doing a reset and then arranging a broadband engineer if that doesn't work?
@Anotherone
The test socket isolates the internal wiring and given that the problems were still there I'm happy it isn't the internal wiring.

James
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

That doesn't mean that you will be getting the best performance or not vulnerable to noise pickup when things are in the normal setup.
You should only have the Blue/white & White/blue wires connected to terminals 2 & 5 not only at the faceplate but all extension sockets.
If you have noise on the phone line you need to pursue it as a phone fault and make sure it's reported and recorded as an Intermittent fault and that the OpenReach engineer is told it's intermittent.
When it's intermittent the broadband does the sort of thing that's happened, you get a low sync event and possibly raised Target SNRM/Banded.
With the line attenuation as shown in the stats, the line should be capable of around 8M if it were problem free.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

As Anotherone says, I'm afraid noise on the line has to be pursued as a voice fault - if we test the line it'll show as a voice line fault, we can push to raise that anyway but all investigations will just end up referring to the phone line fault and that it needs raising with the phone provider I'm afraid.
It should also be fixed much faster that way Smiley
JEB
Grafter
Posts: 262
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband


Hi Matt / Anotherone

Ok I'll raise it with BT again and make sure my parents make clear it is an intermittent fault.  I just hope the next engineer manages to find out what is wrong.
Anyway cheers for the help and I'll let you know what happens.

James
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

Thanks very much, hope it goes well and gets sorted quickly.
JEB
Grafter
Posts: 262
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

Ok, BT have been back to my parents.  My mum wasn't very impressed as she said the engineer didn't understand a word of the printed notes I had left for him on the fault!
However I was round there yesterday and there was no noise on the line and the sync rate had jumped up to 4,600Kbps with a 15dB margin which are much more in line with what they should be.  So either the engineer has managed to fix something or the phone was deciding to behave for a change.  Touch wood that it is fixed but I will keep an eye on it.
The only issue is that the line speed on the portal is still set at 0.25 so my parents aren't seeing any faster speeds.  Unfortunately I forgot to check the IP Profile using the speedtester however I am assuming that the Plus profile is just stuck.  Jojo or Matt would you mind checking what the BT IP Profile is at the moment and assuming it has correctly updated change the Plus profile to match?

Thanks

James
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,089
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 55
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband

@JEB
The line rate is still set very low indeed for their line (around 200kbps) I've submitted an SNR reset which should cause the line to retrain to 6db and recalculate the line rate more appropriately.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
JEB
Grafter
Posts: 262
Registered: 01-09-2007

Re: Fault with my parent's broadband


Cheers Adam.
I'm around at my parents again on Sunday so I will take another look to see how the line is behaving after the reset.

James