cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC speed is rubbish

BRABUS
Grafter
Posts: 660
Registered: 12-01-2010

FTTC speed is rubbish

My inlaws are having some issues with their FTTC.  They did have a great speed but recently it has gone to poo.

This is the results from the PN pages
Phone exchange:
CAERLEON
Estimated line speed:
57Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit) - Checked on 2012-08-24 12:07:53
Current line speed:
77.4 Mb

Using an ethernet connection their download speed is 17.2 MB and upload is 15.9.  The download used to report 71MB, can anyone suggest anything as the hard ware hasn't changed, the cabling hasn't been disturbed so we are at a loss.
cheers
7 REPLIES
RPMozley
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,118
Thanks: 30
Fixes: 5
Registered: 04-11-2011

Re: FTTC speed is rubbish

What's the status of the virtual paths at their exchange?
Edit: Just checked CAERLEON for you, shows as GREEN on the 19th.  Undecided
That's RPM to you!!
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: FTTC speed is rubbish

What speedtester were they using?
BRABUS
Grafter
Posts: 660
Registered: 12-01-2010

Re: FTTC speed is rubbish

They were/are using
http://speedtester.bt.com
and
http://speedtest.btwholesale.com
The first one often errors but the second one always gives pretty much the same speed regardless of time of day.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: FTTC speed is rubbish

I'd suggest getting them to do a soft disconnect(via the router) power down and then connect  back up and see if it syncs any higher.
Can you PM me the username and I'll check the line.
BRABUS
Grafter
Posts: 660
Registered: 12-01-2010

Re: FTTC speed is rubbish

Power cycled and pm sent  Cool

Latest stats
Download:      20.34
Upload:           15.36
Ping Latency: 22.63

How do I tell them to check the sync?  I know on my older model router  Embarrassed
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: FTTC speed is rubbish

They can't check the sync easily on a Fibre line, it's not available in the router.
I've given Chris a nudge to take a look.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: FTTC speed is rubbish

Hi Brabus,
Did you get my response to your PM?
If not let me know and we'll go from there.