cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC speed banded ?

FIXED
Ian06
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 148
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2021

FTTC speed banded ?

I have been using a BT Smart Hub 2 for a couple of months now and it has been running my network a lot faster than my old Hub 1.

However my line appears to have become banded at 13Mbps ( I was previously stably connected at 16 to 18Mbps.)  The line seems quite good for the distance from the cabinet and  the connection was happily staying up for 8 to 10 days or more.

However we have had a 3 or 4 power outages recently (UK Power Networks repairing some nearby overhead cables apparently) and the modem connection speed now only connects at a fixed 13Mbps.

Can someone check if DLM has 'banded'/'placed a cap on' the line speed and reset it please...

Many Thanks

Here is the info screen from the router (this was taken about 9:30 this morning, the SNR gets worse in the evenings & overnight:

SH2 Router Screenshot 2022-05-26 092558.jpg

 

 

6 REPLIES 6
Ian06
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 148
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2021

Re: FTTC speed banded ?

In case it helps the other usual data is

BT Line Checker 2022-05-26 133612.jpgBT Line Test 2022-05-26 133917.jpg

adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,877
Thanks: 882
Fixes: 221
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: FTTC speed banded ?

Hi there @Ian06, I've just performed a line test which confirms banding is in place. I've submitted a DLM reset which should sort that out within the next 24 hours. Please give us a shout back here if there's any issues beyond that. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Ian06
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 148
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2021

Re: FTTC speed banded ?

@adamwalker Hi nothing seems to have changed.   I just restarted the router and the conection speed is the same at "Data rate:  547 Kbps / 13.095 Mbps"  Looks like the reset didn't happen...

SH2 Router Screenshot 2022-05-30 094455.jpg

Can you try again.... ?   Thanks

adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,877
Thanks: 882
Fixes: 221
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: FTTC speed banded ?

Fix

Sorry to see that Ian and sure, I've put another reset through so that should take effect soon. Please get back to me again if there's any further issues but I hope that does the trick.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Ian06
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 148
Thanks: 70
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎06-04-2021

Re: FTTC speed banded ?

@adamwalker 

Many Thanks, that seems to have been done now (about 20 mins ago) and my d/l speed is now much faster.  I'll keep an eye on it and see if DLM changes it again over the next couple of weeks.

Many Thanks....

SH2 Router Screenshot 2022-05-30 131619.jpg

adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,877
Thanks: 882
Fixes: 221
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: FTTC speed banded ?

Marvelous, I'm glad to see that's worked this time and do give us a shout again if there's any further problems.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team