cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC order

Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

FTTC order

Finally! My cab has been activated!  Grin
I placed my order via the 'Change Product' menu, and I have an engineer booked for the 15th April PM.
Hopefully all will go as easy as the order to upgrade!
Heres to 18 months trouble free fibre!  Grin

Oh, and if any staff happen across this during Monday, I messed up a little and didn't order the router which I will need.
Any chance you can pop 1 in the post and add the cost to this months bill?  Cheers.
114 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: FTTC order

Hi,
Unfortunately the cost of P&P for the router can't be added to your bill as it's a payment that's would need to be taken as a one-off.
There's no immediate rush to make the payment and get the router out as they do arrive pretty quickly. If you can give us a quick call on 0800 432 0200 we'll take payment and get the router sent out for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: FTTC order

Ok, I'll give them a tinkle when I get home.  Cheers Chris.
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: FTTC order

Well today is the day!
BTOR are booked to arrive this afternoon to install my unlimited fibre.
My Technicolour arrived a couple of days ago, and I will be plugging in 2 Netgear DGND3300v2 routers to it, to extend the wireless signal, and I will report back on how it goes.
I assume fibre still uses DLM?  So I'll be on a 10 day training period I guess?
I received an email from Plusnet saying my account had changed from unlimited ADSL to unlimited fibre, with an estimated 56meg download, and I am on standard stability.
What is standard stability?
Just for comparison I will post my before and after speed:


And now I just sit and wait!  Cheesy
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: FTTC order

Not quite correct
Fibre starts off as fast as it can and then trims back - usually with 48 hours
There is no training period per se as it monitors it continuously
Regarding stability setting
Quote from: Chris
Just to clarify:
BT Wholesale 'Standard' = Openreach 'Speed'
BT Wholesale 'Stable' = Openreach 'Standard'
BT Wholesale 'Super Stable' = Openreach 'Stable'
I hope that makes sense!
So since Plusnet order through BTw I believe that should mean that you are to be provisioned on the fastest setting (Of course I could be wrong there)
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: FTTC order

Thank you Jim.
I did google the stability settings, and came up with both BTw and OR, that's what confused me!
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: FTTC order

The day I wrote what Oldjim has quoted was the most confusing day of my life! Why they can't just be called; Speed, Stable and Standard I'll never know!
@Oldjim - you're right in what you've said above too Smiley
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: FTTC order

Chris, that would be common sense. Wink
I'm getting bored now... come on BTOR!
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: FTTC order

The BTOR  ....  LADY  Cheesy has just been and gone, and very nice she was to.
She said I am the only person connected to my cabinet at the moment which is nice!
She said I am on the 40/20 profile, I said 'erm you mean 80/20' and she said nope, and shown me the connection details.
So can somebody have a look for me please?
Apart from that, I am very happy.
The change over was quick and simple, the lady was lovely, and I am getting a great speed.
I'll pop on a speed test, but bear in mind it's wireless, as I couldn't be bothered to crawl around and connect the cable!  Cheesy


Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: FTTC order

I didn't even know that was an option
What does this say https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: FTTC order

It hasn't updated from the ADSL package yet.
I personally thought it was 40/10 or 80/20?
It definitely said line profile set to 40/20 though.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,956
Thanks: 419
Fixes: 152
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: FTTC order

I've looked over your order and you were definitely provisioned on 80/20
Your current line speed has updated itself now as well
I'm just running a few more tests to try and figure out what is happening here
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,956
Thanks: 419
Fixes: 152
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: FTTC order

Right upon testing your line your modem is currently syncing at 42.9mbps down and 20mbps up which is most likely what's caused the confusion.
This is below your estimate however there is a two day training period on FTTC so there's a chance things might get better however most likely we'll need a fault raising to get that looked into further
Out of curiosity was it a Openreach engineer or a Kelly's Communications engineer?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Devonian
Grafter
Posts: 1,854
Registered: 01-05-2011

Re: FTTC order

Hi and thanks for the quick work Matthew.  Smiley
The engineer was in full OpenReach uniform, however I suspect she was a contractor. 
The modem syncing at 42.9 sounds about right, as speedtests are giving me between 38 and 39meg down, and 19ish up.
I did think it was the training period, but it was the engineer saying I was on a 40/20 profile that confused me.
Boz
Grafter
Posts: 124
Thanks: 4
Registered: 31-01-2012

Re: FTTC order

When you changed from Unlimited ADSL to Unlimited Fibre, what was the change in your monthly payment to PlusNet?
Boz