cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC down, no ADSL

phil4
Grafter
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎13-12-2007

FTTC down, no ADSL

As was rumoured that ADSL still worked after an FTTC install, I can refute that claim for my install.  YMMV.
Also, beware, it seems that if a modem failure occurs, it can take a little while to be resolved, due to an engineer visit being required.  Fault reported this morning at 9am, no call to arrange a visit yet, PN due to chase BT on Thursday morning, so potentially a long wait.
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,106
Registered: ‎06-02-2008

Re: FTTC down, no ADSL

Hi phil4, we left the ADSL lines connected for FTTP trialists but never FTTC. With FTTC your telephone line is physically split inside the cabinet and only PSTN runs back to the exchange over copper from there so there's no way we could leave your ADSL service active.
phil4
Grafter
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎13-12-2007

Re: FTTC down, no ADSL

Thanks Ben, it was definitely just a rumour I thought I'd check as I had nothing to lose.
square
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎08-06-2011

Re: FTTC down, no ADSL

When my FTTC went down (modem failure) I asked for, and was given, free dialup.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: FTTC down, no ADSL

When a fault ticket is raised a dialup component should be added to the account automatically, if you need details on how to connect to it please let us know and we'll advise.
phil4
Grafter
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎13-12-2007

Re: FTTC down, no ADSL

Thanks, but not needed.