cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC data extension kit

Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

FTTC data extension kit

what does this actually include and what is it to achieve?
is it to allow you to place the openreach modem at a different location, or to allow you to place the router at a different location?
if it's the former - for example, if i already have a VDSL faceplate on the master socket, is that kit any different to me just running CW1308 cable from the A/B terminals on the faceplate to another socket elsewhere (under 30m)?
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: FTTC data extension kit

The kit is, in its simplest form, a cat5 extension kit. cat5 goes in to the VDSL socket, and terminates at another box with a RJ45 socket in it and it is for the fibre modem.
I made my own.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: FTTC data extension kit

so CW1308 no good then?
CAT5e isn't the easiest to conceal when running along skirting boards and up walls.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: FTTC data extension kit

You should be all right doing that, I went with cat5 because I have two big boxes of the stuff under the stairs.  Grin
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,066
Thanks: 2,422
Fixes: 21
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: FTTC data extension kit

@Chenks76,
Really good question as with separate modem and router this could indeed be configured in a number of ways.
@Avatastic,
Are there different data extion kits, different ways of installing them or just confusion - see here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,132258.msg1155307.html#msg1155307 - this is somewhat different to your description, which is much the same as what I thought it was.
Kevin
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: FTTC data extension kit

I'm not sure on the variety, but this is what I think of when anyone says data extension kit.

There is no second socket there for a voice point, and that certainly looks like cat5 to me, but that doesn't mean the VDSL faceplate's RJ45 socket doesn't have a voice pair wired up that can be used to make a dual purpose extension.
Cheers,
A.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,066
Thanks: 2,422
Fixes: 21
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: FTTC data extension kit

Is there any significance in this being branded as an ADSL extension as opposed to a VDSL (or data) extension?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: FTTC data extension kit

I don't think so.
The supplier here (disclaimer, I've no previous association with this supplier, it just happened t' be the first I found selling the 'official' extension kit) suggests, to me, that BT are still using the same kit for VDSL as they were ADSL, just with an RJ45 plug on one end in case their subcontractor CBA to punch it down inside the faceplate.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: FTTC data extension kit

Quote from: Townman
Are there different data extion kits, different ways of installing them or just confusion - see here http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,132258.msg1155307.html#msg1155307 - this is somewhat different to your description, which is much the same as what I thought it was.

i think that post refers to moving the master socket, which isn't the same as the VDSL data extension kit.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: FTTC data extension kit

so is CW1308 capable of 80Mbps if the openreach modem as at the end of the extension rather than direct to the master socket?