cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC & Fax Modem

atbs1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

FTTC & Fax Modem

I have recently had FTTC installed - happy with it too - but my USB fax modem, on this line, no longer sends/receives. Is the fibre not compatible with a fax signal?
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,419
Thanks: 17
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

It should be fine.
Do you use the phone line for calls as well ? If not then try plugging a normal phone in and make sure you can make and receive calls.
All a fax modem is (in simplest terms) is a telephone transmitting and receiving tones.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

Really silly thought
I assume you plugged the fax modem into the normal phone socket
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

...unless it sends/receives via USB rather than the phone line, in which case surely all it needs is a working internet connection?
atbs1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

Hi there,
I haven't been able to make thisw fax issue work:
1 I use the fax on the same line as the FTTC is running on
2 An old phone can call on this line
3 The fax modem is a USB connection to the PC, phone jack to socket
4 The fax outbox error message is line unavailable
5 Incoming faxes - from another local PC - are not received with the message "the fax was not answered.
Any additional thought / comments please?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,631
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

Can you hear the modem making the usual tones you'd expect to hear when you're trying to send the fax?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,773
Thanks: 258
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎16-02-2009

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

You could try adding the "ignore line present" at command, forget what it is at the moment though, been along time since I used a modem.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,104
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

Just to check, did you use the socket for the fax/modem when you tested with the phone?
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
VileReynard
All Star
Posts: 11,132
Thanks: 293
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: FTTC & Fax Modem

Have you tried phoning yourself when the modem is supposed to be switched on?
Do you get the appropriate screaming noises? Cheesy