cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC Speed halved

mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

FTTC Speed halved

Ok, so looking at Samknows, my speeds dropped from 73 down to 40ish on the 10th, which I think coincides with my power tripping.
Currently the member centre is showing a line speed of 42mbps.
I've rebooted and the Sync is currently sat at just under 60mbps, attainable is still up at 87mbps as it always has been.
BT Speedtester gives the following:

Modem data:

Any ideas where I should go from here?I guess the speeds still being at 40mbps is plusnet not updating yet, but it's quite a jump down from 80mbps sync to 60, especially when attainable is still say at 87.
I've tried the modem connected directly to the socking and PPPoE straight from my laptop with no change.
23 REPLIES
danger11
Grafter
Posts: 110
Registered: 23-02-2010

Re: FTTC Speed halved

maybe weather related? FTTC is DSL so it would have the same problems.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,313
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: 08-01-2008

Re: FTTC Speed halved

59996 kbps is so close to 60000 kbps that I'd think there's been a 60Mbps 'cap' imposed on your line (maybe by the DLM?).
What modem are you getting those nice graphs and stats from btw?
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Hi there,
It seems there is a profile issue on your line, this has been raised with our suppliers and we'll aim to get that fixed asap.
I've dropped a ticket on your account too.
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Quote from: w23

What modem are you getting those nice graphs and stats from btw?

It's something I wrote to graph my ECI modem.
http://eci.vxr.in/
Quote from: chrispurvey
Hi there,
It seems there is a profile issue on your line, this has been raised with our suppliers and we'll aim to get that fixed asap.
I've dropped a ticket on your account too.

You think the 60mbps sync is a profile issue as well as the obvious mismatch between the BT profile and the Plusnet one?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Our profile is now matching your sync rate, your IP profile however has changed to 40Mb/s, we're waiting to hear back on the fault we've raised to get this rectified.
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: FTTC Speed halved

I've had a lift and shift to another port.
Currently syncing at 80mbps but my plusnet IP Profile seems to be still at 58mbps (BT one appears to be at 77.44 according to btw speedtest)

As a side note, he guessed the port that would be assigned for the lift and shift which showed a max attainable of 98mbps! Unfortunately he was wrong and the port I'm on now has a max attainable of 89mbps. That just goes to show how much variation there can be beyond just your line! I'm guessing crosstalk or perhaps different line cards?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Your profile is now matching, glad to see that's sorted!
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Yes, thanks very much for your help. I'm amazed at how quick it's been rectified when it needed and engineer visit!
Top job! Smiley
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: FTTC Speed halved

I've just lost sync for 5-10 minutes.
It came back OK - sync is still 80/20 and oddly the max attainable has risen despite the original sync being in the day time.
Is there any reason it might have lost sync? Is there any kind of follow up after a lift and shift or could it perhaps be maintenance on the cabinet (the engineer mentioned my issue could be a faulty linecard and it might need rebooting?!)
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: FTTC Speed halved

and my sync has dropped to 60mbps again.
It seems to have happened just after 7am. SNR stats -
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AlG7Pd0m_By8dDFlM0pQUUtNczhFMzVnbDNmRHlqTUE&usp=sharing
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Hi there,
Just wondering if these drops are mostly yourself rebooting the router?
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13744957179118.png"/>

If not you might have an intermittent fault which could be causing the profile to drop, do you notice any noise on the phone line at all?
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Yes, I believe most are simply me rebooting the router.
I've started logging more information from my Modem so I'll keep an eye on it for a little while before going any further with the fault.
The trouble is, the BTOR engineer that came out concluded that the line card must be broken because he could only get 60mbps at the cab when even most people here know that's just because it's been banded by DLM. He's likely to just order another lift and shift if he comes out again. I'm hoping that if I can find some kind of pattern or noise in my logging then there may be a little more for BTOR to go on.
I'll dig my corded phone out later and test the line for noise.
Bjn
Grafter
Posts: 318
Thanks: 1
Registered: 11-11-2012

Re: FTTC Speed halved

Quote

What modem are you getting those nice graphs and stats from btw?

Quote
It's something I wrote to graph my ECI modem.
http://eci.vxr.in/

Just out of interest when I click on the above link do I get the information from my ECI modem or is it a link to a site with your modem stats mikehiow?
If it gets the stats from my modem then your a very cleaver person mikehiow and have achieved a very useful tool.
Bjn
mikehiow
Grafter
Posts: 137
Registered: 17-03-2013

Re: FTTC Speed halved

I'm afraid you're getting old stats from my modem.