cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC Router - Setup Instructions are Incorrect

v70ben
Grafter
Posts: 119
Registered: 19-11-2009

FTTC Router - Setup Instructions are Incorrect

The nice shiny router has arrived, however - on running through the initial setup (and being one that likes IP Addresses for such things)..
I noticed that on the instructions PN supply to users so that they can configure the router, on page 2, it refers to opening a webpage to www.routerlogin.net or to use the IP Address of 192.168.1.1 (which isn't correct doesn't work!) -
HOWEVER, the correct IP address to use for the router is actually 192.168.1.254
Those instructions need changing - it'll make life much easier for non-techie customers who wouldn't dream of checking the DG given out.
5 REPLIES
Frogger
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: FTTC Router - Setup Instructions are Incorrect

Curious, I received my new FTTC router last week and the access IP WAS 192.168.1.1.
Was it a Netgear WNR1000?
v70ben
Grafter
Posts: 119
Registered: 19-11-2009

Re: FTTC Router - Setup Instructions are Incorrect

Yep, it's the same router - And I also received mine last week!  Roll eyes
DHCP IP given to my laptop was
IP: 192.168.1.2
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 192.168.1.254
No response on 192.168.1.1 which I went for initially - So did an IPConfig, saw the above,  and then went for the DG Address.
Frogger
Grafter
Posts: 113
Registered: 19-09-2007

Re: FTTC Router - Setup Instructions are Incorrect

Lack of constency in the builds then by Netgear?  I don't think Plusnet touch the factory supplied config.
Mine is
Hardware Version WNR1000v2
Firmware Version V1.0.1.1
GUI Language Version V1.0.0.35
v70ben
Grafter
Posts: 119
Registered: 19-11-2009

Re: FTTC Router - Setup Instructions are Incorrect

Mine was

Hardware Version WNR1000v3
Firmware Version V1.0.2.30_53.0.66B1
GUI Language Version V1.0.2.30_2.1.10.1

And it must have been touched by PN at some point (or they have a specific FW build by Netgear) as it had the TR69 settings ready to go with PN's details etc.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: FTTC Router - Setup Instructions are Incorrect

Hi v70ben,
Not sure why that was. I've asked the guys who deal with that to check it out and the one's they've checked are correct. Thanks for pointing it out though.
Jojo Smiley