cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC PPPoe will it work

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: 30-07-2007

FTTC PPPoe will it work

I have a Belkin Share N300 adsl modem model no F7D3402 v1.
I notice in the setup screen there is an option for PPPoe. Does this mean I would be able to use the router part of this device alone in conjunction with the new BT FTTC modem?
Curious does has anyone else got this router on fttc.
podman
5 REPLIES
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: FTTC PPPoe will it work

Yes, I think you can on some Belkin models that can auto-sense what sort of connection you have
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: FTTC PPPoe will it work

No - This is an ADSL router and does not have the ability to use a LAN port as a WAN port.
Although PPPoA is the most common config for ADSL, PPPoE is also an option. (Bulldog and Be originally used PPPoE for example)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 11
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: FTTC PPPoe will it work

Cheers, thought I'd check before I place my order on Thursday.
Podman
apjashley1
Grafter
Posts: 307
Registered: 31-07-2012

Re: FTTC PPPoe will it work

Have you powered up the router? I have a Belkin N300 and it definitely has an option to be used as a wireless access point
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,468
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: 26-11-2012

Re: FTTC PPPoe will it work

That's not what the OP asked though -They want to use it as a router.