cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC Currently Being Installed

theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

FTTC Currently Being Installed

Hi There,
BT Openreach have already installed the Fibre Cabinets and have already connected the Fibre cabinets and broadband cabinets together so I'm wondering what happens next if anyone can give some insight.
Thanks
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Keep putting your telephone number in to http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome
You could also look at what http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/ says.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Hi Jelv,
According to the BT Openreach it should be completed by 31/12/2013.
I was also told by a friend that they could offer fibre optic sooner, hence the reason I was asking if anyone knew what happens next.
I've tried to get an email for Openreach to ask but no luck, and there website isn't helpful, the offer only limited information.
At this point they've connected both cabinets and are now planning minor works between the cabinets and peoples houses on the road.
Thanks
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 867
Thanks: 124
Fixes: 24
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Just keep checking regularly using the dslchecker link provided by jelv.
The date and status will change if indeed it does become available before the original estimated completion date.
st1967
Grafter
Posts: 26
Registered: 02-11-2012

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Exactly, my date was always 30th June, but I just checked the BT Checker daily after the fibre cab was installed (end March) and all of a sudden it went to accepting orders early in May and I got an install date for 10 days after that.  Engineer told me I was the first person on it in the cab too.
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Thanks for the reply and for giving me some hope that I might not have to wait too long Grin, when I check through the dslchecker link it keeps telling me there's no data available for that number, pretty weird.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Odd! That only usually happens when it's a non-BT line (e.g. Sky/TalkTalk)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,435
Thanks: 504
Fixes: 188
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Unfortunately as you're on a LLU line at the moment you won't be able to see anything using your number until the line transfers to us.
You should be able to use the address checker underneath in the mean time
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: FTTC Currently Being Installed

Yeah at the time I was with Sky, but switched over on Friday, it registers now which is good.