cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC Appointment?

balmedie
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 21-02-2009

FTTC Appointment?

Hi Folks,
My FTTC appointment is due this afternoon between 1pm-6pm - no sign of anyone yet Sad - Is this a bad sign?
Im sure I am just worrying over nothing....
I'm also dreading the engineer looking at my External NTE (XNTE) and walking away (Im in a relatively new build house - no internal master sockets at all) - lets hope that doesn't happen!
Cheers
Paul
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: FTTC Appointment?

Hi Paul,
So you don't have a telephone socket? The socket is usually part of the build itself, so that's off if this is the case?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
balmedie
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 21-02-2009

Re: FTTC Appointment?

I have phone sockets obviously - 3 standard looking phone sockets (no NTE5 type) - I have an XNTE on the outside of my house, a very common thing with any house built in the last 5 years (google BT XNTE)
balmedie
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 21-02-2009

Re: FTTC Appointment?

Hi Chris (sorry didnt say Hi in last post....very rude of me Smiley)
Apparently all new house builds these days have external NTE's - which makes an FTTC install interesting if they are looking for non-existent master sockets - so few ISP's mention XNTE's when signing up for FTTC (i.e. none) - The XNTE is a grey box on my exterior wall with the BT Openreach logo on it - apparently they started doing this to make a clear demarcation point when doing troubleshooting they test to this box and that's it.
Cheers
Paul
balmedie
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 21-02-2009

Re: FTTC Appointment?

Hi Again...
Interesting post on another forum....
http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/46003-external-nte-xnte-discontinued.html
Lets hope the guy who is coming today (is he still coming?) is aware of thisHuh?
Cheers
Paul
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: FTTC Appointment?

Hi Paul,
The engineer is still scheduled to attend as far as I can see.
Fingers crossed the engineer has come across this before, I'd assume he/she has given the number of installations they do.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
balmedie
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 21-02-2009

Re: FTTC Appointment?

Yay - All done and dusted, BT guy had to bypass the XNTE and install an NTE inside the house - but he did it all and sorted.
Now I just need to work out why its exactly the same speed download as it was before on ADSL2+ (and I mean exactly - about 13/14mb)
Is it settling in or is there a cap on it at the plus net end?
I note that the upload speed has gone up to about 13mb though?
Cheers
Paul
RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 652
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 10
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: FTTC Appointment?

You need to get PlusNet to update their profile to your FTTC speed, this sometimes doesn't seem to happen after FTTC installations without some prodding, particularly on late appointments Smiley
balmedie
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: 21-02-2009

Re: FTTC Appointment?

I had a feeling it was profile related - I will open a new forum post and raise a helpdesk ticket saying much the same Smiley
Many Thanks
Paul