cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTTC 6 days so far

goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,783
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

FTTC 6 days so far

Here are my review on my FTTC for 6 days ongoing. Very happy overall with 80/20 service but this week between 10pm and 12am are very heavy congestion reduced speed from 72Mbps to around 25Mbps as the broadband quality monitor can see very high at that time. But the rest was fine getting 72/17 max speed.
Here is my live broadband Quality Monitor: http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/978c464247e9345475951e6796ff32c1.html
Speed Test Result from Think Broadband: http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=139282741744334096624
12 REPLIES
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 52
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

Good so far!!
You might want to change your forum name then  Wink
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,783
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

This evening went very slow (it happen every night) Is there something wrong with Plusnet network cannot cope or is it my local exchange heavy congestion?
Slow speed here: http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=139284521262038528235
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 52
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

My BT connection has been all over the place recently, slow in the evenings as well.
A few evenings ago it slowed down to 6mb.
My BT hub 5 has restarted 2 times this evening for no apparent reason, and no firmware upgrade recently.
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Highlighted
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,783
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

So, it appear look like Plusnet 21CN network cannot cope then?
The Quality Monitor had shoot up now, look bad!
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/978c464247e9345475951e6796ff32c1.html
http://portal.plus.net/support/service/network_performance/broadband_bandwidth_usage.shtml
I do think that Plusnet need to add extra 21CN Broadband Capacity (they last updated back in 04/04/2013 @ 10:42
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

Quote from: goldenadsl
So, it appear look like Plusnet 21CN network cannot cope then?
I do think that Plusnet need to add extra 21CN Broadband Capacity (they last updated back in 04/04/2013 @ 10:42

Increase in 20CN and 21CN Broadband Capacity - January & February 2014
Broadband
Posted on: Tuesday 4 February 2014, 12:48
We recently increased the capacity of our IPSC (20CN) broadband host links by a further 3500Mbps. It's these host links that we use to deliver bandwidth to customers provisioned on an 'Up to 8Mbps' 20CN product.
In addition to this we have increased the capacity of our WBC (21CN) broadband host links by 16.11Gbps. It's these host links that we use to deliver bandwidth to the majority of customers on our 21CN and Fibre services. We'll also be increasing this further by an additional 8.86Gbps.
We're activating this extra capacity in line with the current budget, customers' usage habits and our projected growth in customer numbers.
Kind regards,
Chris Parr
Customer Support
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

Do you have some kind of server or service running 24/7?
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,783
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

No all server in background is not running. I think it could be suffered from my local exchange congestion?
dick:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

It does not look like it from your graph.
Are you using a Thomson or Technicolor Router?
Do you have any addresses set DMZ in your router?
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,783
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

No hardware from Plusnet.
I am using my own hardware Netgear Fibre Router DGND3700v2 connected with BT Openreach Modem HG612.
Speed seem return to normal now
http://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/results.html?id=139285005003844145005
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,783
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

Quote from: NorthEasterner
You might want to change your forum name then  Wink

Done Wink
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 52
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: FTTC 6 days so far

Goodio
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
goldenfibre
Pro
Posts: 2,783
Thanks: 72
Fixes: 6
Registered: 01-06-2010

Re: FTTC 6 days so far