cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FTP'ing to CCGI - Is there a problem?

mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: 09-10-2007

FTP'ing to CCGI - Is there a problem?

Getting the following error for FTP to ccgi.plus.net and ccgi.force9.net
[19:18:11] Resolving host name "ccgi.plus.net"
[19:18:11] Connecting to 84.92.1.4 Port: 21
[19:18:32] A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
[19:18:32] Cannot login waiting to retry (30s)...
[19:18:32] Client closed the connection.
[19:19:02] Continue to login attempt 2...
[19:19:02] Resolving host name "ccgi.plus.net"
[19:19:02] Connecting to 84.92.1.4 Port: 21
And so on.. can anyone else replicate this behaviour?
Tracing route to ccgi.force9.net [84.92.1.5]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    2 ms    1 ms    1 ms  gateway81-174-xxx-xxx.gdst.dund.core.dscentral.co.uk [81.174.xxx.xxx]
  2    32 ms    38 ms    34 ms  lo0-plusnet.pte-ag2.plus.net [195.166.128.72]
  3    31 ms    26 ms    40 ms  ge0-0-0-504.pte-gw2.plus.net [84.92.4.90]
  4    29 ms    26 ms    28 ms  vl23.thn-gw2.plus.net [212.159.4.20]
  5    37 ms    43 ms    33 ms  ccgi.force9.net [84.92.1.5]

Trace complete.

5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,687
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: FTP'ing to CCGI - Is there a problem?

Try cshell.plus.net - you might have more luck!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: FTP'ing to CCGI - Is there a problem?

still a non starter im afraid!
[22:02:28] Resolving host name "cshell.plus.net"
[22:02:28] Connecting to 84.92.1.4 Port: 21
[22:02:49] A connection attempt failed because the connected party did not properly respond after a period of time, or established connection failed because connected host has failed to respond.
[22:02:49] Cannot login waiting to retry (30s)...
[22:02:49] Client closed the connection.
<edit>eek... looks like I cant get *any* FTP data out...., but the firewalls / routers arent dropping anything!! the requests are being sent out to the internet... any ideas PN?</edit>
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,687
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: FTP'ing to CCGI - Is there a problem?

Are you on a Plusnet connection?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
mcgurka
Grafter
Posts: 764
Registered: 09-10-2007

Re: FTP'ing to CCGI - Is there a problem?

Yep, definately made from a PN connection.. I havent had time to check it today, but I will try it later on, was there a known problem to do with this, I was able to replicate it from another 2 PN connections as well :S
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,649
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: FTP'ing to CCGI - Is there a problem?

Hmm strange, I can't replicate this from here:-
ftp ccgi.plus.net
Connected to ccgi.plus.net.
220 Plus.Net CGI FTP Server #1 ready
Name (ccgi.plus.net:cparr):

ftp ccgi.force9.net
Connected to ccgi.force9.net.
220 Force9.Net CGI FTP Server #1 ready
Name (ccgi.force9.net:cparr):

Both PN and F9 ccgi servers let me connect and log in without issues.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff