cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extending wifi coverage........

tailendcharlie
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-11-2011

Extending wifi coverage........

I'm a network newb, so take it slow please  Wink
I have a Thomson TG585v8 located in my office as my router. This is the only room with a BT phone outlet. The house is an old blacksmiths workshop conversion with thick stone walls, not ideal for wifi coverage.
I lose the wifi signal beyond 10 metres. To add an internet connection in the living room I've installed a pair of powerline adapters and they work fine.
I have an older TG585v7 router. Can I connect this to the powerline adapter in the living room, thereby extending wifi coverage at that end of the house ?? I know there will probably be a bunch of router settings that need to be changed but I'm happy to work through those if it will work.
Cheers, Rob.
5 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Extending wifi coverage........

You need to disable the DHCP on the router and give it a different IP address (one on the same subnet but not in the range of IP addresses given out by the DHCP on the main router). You'll need to just connect to that router only while you make the changes.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
stallan
Grafter
Posts: 282
Registered: ‎02-11-2007

Re: Extending wifi coverage........

Exactly what Jelv says, but I'll add that you can have the same SSID on both routers. That's how mine is setup and it works seamlessly .
tailendcharlie
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-11-2011

Re: Extending wifi coverage........

Cheers guys. Just got to take a deep breath and get stuck in  Wink
tailendcharlie
Grafter
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎09-11-2011

Re: Extending wifi coverage........

Up and running. No wifi repeaters needed. Big thanks again guys.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,744
Thanks: 954
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Extending wifi coverage........

Excellent! Smiley
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)