cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

louisemel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-04-2014

Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

Hi,
My local exchange has been AO for a while now, but I still cannot get anyone to take my money and give me fibre. How can I find out if/when my cabinet will be enabled and if I'll ever be able to get fibre at my current house? I've searched all over the internet, is there somewhere that can tell me about my cabinet (I doubt I'm connected directly to the exchange) and the plans (if any) for it.
The area is full of new build houses, all within the last 5 years, surely they should have just put in FTTP instead of copper.
12 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

Hi louisemel,
The latest availability will be shown here: https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ a lot of the availability depends on whether or not BT have installed a Fibre Cabinet in your locality. Keep an eye on the above page and as soon as it's available, you should be able to order through us.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
louisemel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-04-2014

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

Thanks.
Telephone Number 017098xxxx7 on Exchange WATH UPON DEARNE is served by Cabinet 27
Any ideas how to find out if this cabinet will ever have fibre installed?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

Unfortunately we don't get information what the plans are other than from the above link and http://www.superfast-openreach.co.uk/where-and-when/ the latter link is more to show which exchanges are enabled as opposed to Cabinets.
The best thing to do is to keep an eye on the BT Availability Checker and when your cabinet is planned or live, it'll display on there for you.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
louisemel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-04-2014

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

Looks like I am out of luck. Anyway to increase the speeds of my crappy 3.5 mb connection? particularly the upload. Working from home is so slow.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

I'll take a look at your line. If there is anything I can do, it'll be done within the next 5 minutes so please don't be alarmed if your connection does drop as a result of changes that I make.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

I've placed an order to uncap your upstream speeds, this will complete overnight tonight. Once this has completed, we'll have a look at a few other settings on your line to see if we can improve things, we can't do this before the order has completed.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
louisemel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-04-2014

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

Thanks, I'll check back tomorrow.
louisemel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-04-2014

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

The speed test (http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/) says my maximum achievable upload has increase, but not my actual upload speed. Download is still 3.3 Mbps of a max of 4.

Uptime: 0 days, 16:08:44
DSL Type: G.992.3 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 4,396
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 4,024
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 98.57 / 1.28
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 9.5 / 19.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.0 / 48.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 7.0 / 15.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 65,537 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 131,072 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 5,177 / 42,275
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 114 / 237
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 174 / 1,612

I'd imagine I'm not going to get much faster Sad about 3.5 km from the exchange.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,894
Thanks: 3,259
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

Hi Louisemel,
Your synch speed is a little low and the SNRM is a little high.  Error counts are high too, especially US so there could be an issue on your line.
Are you connected to the master socket?  Have you got any extensions?  Is the line quiet?  Dial 17070 option 2.
I suggest that you follow the trouble shooter here - http://faults.plus.net - report it as slow speeds.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

I'll take a look at the line now and see if there anything I can do to improve those speeds.
I've made some changes, so that should look a bit better. You might need to log into your router and press the 'Disconnect' and 'Connect' button for all the changes to take effect.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
louisemel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-04-2014

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

New build house, 3 years old, connected to the master socket, no extensions and the line is quiet on that test. Thanks for trying.
Download  Speed
3.14 Mbps
7.15 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload Speed
0.73 Mbps
0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Link Information
Uptime: 1 day, 2:55:35
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 7,068
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 888 / 6,232
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 379.75 / 2.63
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.0 / 47.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 9.5 / 7.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 131,074 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 196,606 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 3,977 / 240,413
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 55 / 560
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 85 / 3,002
louisemel
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: 07-04-2014

Re: Exchange Accepting orders for FTTC

What ever you did seemed to do something.
Download  Speed
4.49 Mbps
Upload Speed
0.75 Mbps
Thanks. I'll await FTTC now.