cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Estimated speed higher than current line speed?

danoliver1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 01-04-2013

Estimated speed higher than current line speed?

Hi, got my unlimited fiber installed today but I have a query with these stats
Estimated line speed:
57Mb (Accurate to within +/- 1Mbit)  - Checked on 2013-03-27 16:05:19
Current line speed:
37 Mb
Is this right? speedtest.net says 36mb down and 14 up.
thanks
4 REPLIES
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,850
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Estimated speed higher than current line speed?

Your line will just need to stabilise.  As it was just installed, the Dslam needs to find the highest speed your line can handle.  So presumably it will be higher tomorrow.
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,415
Thanks: 1,000
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Estimated speed higher than current line speed?

Are you on Fibre essentials as that is the limit on that.
If you are on unlimited it could be a mistake
Running the BT speed test to check the IP profile (further diagnostics option) and it that is much higher then Plusnet may have got it wrong
danoliver1
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 01-04-2013

Re: Estimated speed higher than current line speed?

Iam on fibre unlimited my usage says i have 0kb allowance so assume this is correct.
Bt speed test shows iam on 72mb profile with current speed at 37mb.
Am I right in thinking plusnet need do manually change my profile 24hr after install? If so they havnt yet.
dick:quote
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Estimated speed higher than current line speed?

Hi there,
Sorry about that, just tweaked things on our side for you - hope that's made a difference?