cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Errors In The Router

tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Errors In The Router

Are errors that you see in the router to be worried about or not?.
39 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Errors In The Router

Not unless there are an awful lot of uncorrected errors
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Errors In The Router

Which one of these is that, FEC, CRC, HEC's?.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Errors In The Router

tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Errors In The Router

Is it HEC errors that you are on about, just looked at that page briefly?.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Errors In The Router

As stated on that page the errors which are reported and which haven't been corrected are CRC and HEC
if you want to understand more about what is happening I suggest reading that page more closely and also the other technical pages on that site which is a very useful source of information
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Errors In The Router

So i take it CRC and HEC errors are the uncorrected errors then?.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Errors In The Router

It would be a lot easier if you said what errors you were concerned about in the first place, and posted the stats so we can see the overall picture.
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Errors In The Router

Sorry, was just about to do that, here you go, is this normal, been connected about 1hr 40mins.
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.190 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 31.353
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 8.024
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Errors In The Router

What about the rest of the stats, need a complete picture. Was that connection time from a power up (ie it was switched off previously)?
That is a Technicolor 582n you are using is it, can you say what firmware version you've got?
I've never like the error stats reporting on recent Thomsons, the results you've just posted seem to have decimal points in, so if the number is otherwise right  ie 31 CRC errors that seems reasonable. If it should have been a comma ie 31,353 CRC errors OMG.
I don't have a 582n myself to play with. Personally I think it's a firmware bug, which is why I'm asking about the version
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Errors In The Router

Full stats.
Uptime: 0 days, 2:17:56
DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.5
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1.215 / 20.927
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 119,14 / 445,73
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12,2 / 0,0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 7,2 / 15,5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6,5 / 6,1
System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----
Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): -
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2.418 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 33.298
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 8.414
And yeah it is the plusnet router i am using the technicolor tg582n with software release 8.4.4.J
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Errors In The Router

Your line isn't interleaved so all the errors reported are uncorrected and those values are absolutely nothing to worry about
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Errors In The Router

How can you tell if my line is interleaved or not, i was trying to figure out that?.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,420
Thanks: 532
Fixes: 48
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Errors In The Router

It doesn't have any reported FEC ( forward error correction ) errors. This type of error correction is only possible if the line is interleaved. Since yours has none reported but does have CRC errors then it can't be interleaved
tomxlisa
Grafter
Posts: 213
Registered: 20-04-2012

Re: Errors In The Router

Oh right ok, thanks for that information, i always wonder if interleaved is turned off on my line, obviosuly it is cause the support guys say it is when i ask them to check, but my pings don't seem that great from when i had a interleaved line, and in every case i've turned interleave off in the past i've always had a reduce in pings, pinging www.bbc.co.uk gives this result which isn't much different from when my line was interleaved, sometimes i do get 15ms averages but most the time it is this, not sure if it is something to do with the bbc servers or something?.
Pinging www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.244.70] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 212.58.244.70: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=55
Reply from 212.58.244.70: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=55
Reply from 212.58.244.70: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=55
Reply from 212.58.244.70: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=55