cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

smiler5000
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 22-03-2018

Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

Hi all, 

 

I am getting the err connection timed out error when i try to access my two blogs, both hosted on wordpress. I hunted on google and spent about 5 hours (i am not great with computer jargon) doing everything that all the sites listed at possible solutions. 

I spoke to Go Daddy and they said they could access it fine. I tried my phone and had the same error but when i turned off the wifi it worked fine pin pointing it to me as a plusnet issue. 

So among the solutions i have tried is changing the DNS to 8.8.8.8 etc, changing my LAN settings, unticking protocol 4 boxes, rebooting the router, leaving it off for about 2 hours first time and about 9 hours the second time. 

Tried diff browsers etc, all the suggestions. 

I just tried ringing but it's 20 min wait time so thought I would post here. 

Oh, someone messaged me on facebook asking if i had stopped the blogging as they couldn't access the site, i said no and told him to use his phone 4g and he said it worked. I asked if he was on plusnet and he said yes so it's a plusnet issue for sure. 

 

Anyone have any other ideas or how I can get this looked in to?

The two sites are www.elitemilitaryforces.com and www.tradingthetennis.com

 

Thanks all, I will try and answer any questions but please remember I am not very technical with computers!

 

Cheers

7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,057
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

What router are you using?

I suspect it's the same issue as: https://community.plus.net/t5/Broadband/One-website-will-not-load/td-p/1523332

smiler5000
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 22-03-2018

Re: Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

It's a Hub One router. We have had it for over a year but the problem only started maybe 10 days ago. 

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,668
Thanks: 347
Fixes: 5
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

The IP address is slightly different, but it's in the same range (160.153.137.x) as the ones in the other thread.

smiler5000
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 22-03-2018

Re: Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

What does that suggest? Do I need a new router? Is there some options I can work through to find a fix? I am not massively technical though lol,

Cheers for your replies so far. 

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,057
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

Initially I suspected it was a problem with my router, which is a rather old Netgear. But now that I've seen that it is affecting a few people, with different routers, then it's not a problem with anyone's router.

This requires some Plusnet staff input, I don't think there's anything you can do to fix it on your end.

Jeade
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: a month ago

Re: Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs


@ejs wrote:

Initially I suspected it was a problem with my router, which is a rather old Netgear. But now that I've seen that it is affecting a few people, with different routers, then it's not a problem with anyone's router.

This requires some Plusnet staff input, I don't think there's anything you can do to fix it on your end.


@ejs have you had any information at all from Plusnet staff? I can't get through, or when I do they just suggest turning router on and off to gain new IP address. However the problem is obviously with a wider issue than just me and my home network but nobody will acknowledge them. Incredibly frustrating.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,057
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Err Connection Timed Out error on my two blogs

No, but then I wasn't going to attempt to contact them personally, since the issue doesn't affect any websites I need to use. I am going to continue to wait for someone from Plusnet to read these forums, or for the problem to disappear by itself, whichever comes first. It's not like I have some special codeword to get straight through to some suitably technical department at Plusnet or anything.