cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dropouts

matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Dropouts

I regularly find my connection has dropped.
A lot of times I will come home and it's off, or get up in the morning and it's off.
Today I am sat using the net and it has gone off three or four tims in the last hour.
Can anyone please see if there is a fault with my connection, or any other reason it would keep dropping out?Huh
Thanks.
14 REPLIES
matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Re: Dropouts

Gone another 3 times in the 8 minutes since I posted.
Constant up and down.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Dropouts

Hi
This is an ADSL line right? Could you post the stats for your line from your router admin page?
matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Re: Dropouts

Yes it's ADSL.
Here's the details;
Uptime: 0 days, 1:29:19
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,128 / 9,736
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 13.0 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 19.5 / 38.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 4.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 6 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 4,294,967,264 / 559,336
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 4,294,967,264 / 336
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 294
Thanks!
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Dropouts

Hmm...looks like a lot or errors on your line (could be a line fault)
Are you connected via the master socket or an extension? How long have you had the problem?
matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Re: Dropouts

I only have one phone socket in the house, and the router is connected to it directly.
I always have a few dropouts each week, but the constant loop comes and goes, this time it's been a problem for a couple of weeks.
Last time I posted about it Plusnet told me that the connection randomly dropping was part of using the internet.........
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Dropouts

Yeah, that's not great advice whoever told you that last time!
Well..I'm no expert, but I think your HEC errors show some form of a problem.
It might be worth running through http://faults.plus.net to log a fault and getting the ball rolling.
matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Re: Dropouts

Thanks for your help!
Strangely whilst using that tool it cam up with an error, now the tool won't run either......
I will try it again tomorrow, giving up on the internet for today.
Cheers!
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Dropouts

Hi matthewk1971,
How's your connection been over the weekend?
We'll update your ticket shortly.
Chris
matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Re: Dropouts

Hi,
It wasn't as bad as it has been, but I wasn't using it so much so won't have noticed.
I think Sunday evening, it was off for a bit. I had to reset the router a few times, then just ignored it for a bit and when I checked later it was back up again.
Yesterday evening it was back to it's worst, at about midnight I watched it drop out 3 times in 4 minutes.
It was down a lot yesterday afternoon too.
Thanks..
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Dropouts

I can see we've placed an order for interleaving to be turned on, this is due to complete today so hopefully we'll see some improvement.
Let us know how it goes.
matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Re: Dropouts

Although I am not convinced, last night I started to think it is the router causing the issues.
My computer was constantly losing connection, as usual, couldn't connect to the router or any external pages.
But I noticed the wife was happily away on her laptop.
I tried logging into the router on my phone and it was up, showed as connected to the internet and seemed fine, but my desktop which is wired could not see anything.
I reboot the router and the desktop works for about 10 seconds then drops again.
I have a Thomson router, I think it's a 585 but not sure.
Have you seen any instances of a router causing this problem?
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,093
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Dropouts

Not with my 585, but I had a "Sky" Netgear DG834(?) that had faulty capacitors and "lost" the ethernet ports - wireless continued, though.
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
matthewk1971
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 30-09-2007

Re: Dropouts

This eased off for a while, but for the last couple of weeks it's been off every day when I et home from work.
It also goes off during the evening some nights.
Can anyone at Plusnet see if they can see any problems with my line or connection?
Thanks.
Link Information
Uptime: 0 days, 0:19:52
DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,113 / 11,483
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 0.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.0 / 39.5
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 3.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / IFTN
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 4,294,967,264 / 48,854
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 4,294,967,264 / 19
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 19
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Dropouts

Hi there,
Here's your connection logs for the past week:
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image13728673255465.png"/>
Ignore the 2 day gap at the bottom, looks like an error due to a session not showing as being closed (though we know it is).
So, we're seeing a couple of drops a day in the evenings. I'd say that'd be worth raising a fault on, especially if either it's down for any length of time or it's causing your connection to slow down. You can do that at http://faults.plus.net