cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drop in sync speed

hangar18
Grafter
Posts: 40
Thanks: 15
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2009

Drop in sync speed

Hello..

 

My fibre downstream sync rate has dropped from 79979Kbs to 73999Kbps for no apparent reason that I am aware of.

Is there a PlusNet staffer out there that could kindly request a DLM reset please?

 

Thank you

John

6 REPLIES 6
jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,649
Thanks: 5,248
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Drop in sync speed

@hangar18 Staff response on here can be a little slow. A drop usually indicates a problem, so the first thing to do is eliminate the obvious, As a first step,

First thing to check: Is your phoneline clear? Dial 17070 (preferably from a corded phone), select option 2. Once your phone number is confirmed, there should be silence on the line except for the regular 'Quiet Line Test' message - any other noise, report back.

Which Hub, or modem/router are you using?

John
hangar18
Grafter
Posts: 40
Thanks: 15
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2009

Re: Drop in sync speed

@jab1..

 

The phone line is clear. I had a similar problem almost exactly a year ago. This just required a DLM reset and has been fine until now. I was hoping PN would do it again.

I use a Draytek Vigor 130 modem and a Ubiquiti UDM-Pro router.

 

Cheers.

John

 

 

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,649
Thanks: 5,248
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Drop in sync speed

John, that may have been the case a year ago, but there has to be a reason for the change., we need to establish that reason.

It is good the phone line is clear - that eliminates one problem, but doesn't help to explain the cause of your speed drop.

I'm not familiar with your kit, but does the Draytek provide any useful data?

John
hangar18
Grafter
Posts: 40
Thanks: 15
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2009

Re: Drop in sync speed

@jab1 

Netomnia  have been digging, trenching and pulling fibre outside my house for weeks. The BT cab is just outside my boundary  wall. Anything could have happened out there!

See the stats from my modem in the screenshot.. It means nothing to me! 🙂

 Cheers..

jab1
Legend
Posts: 16,649
Thanks: 5,248
Fixes: 246
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Drop in sync speed


@hangar18 wrote:

@jab1 

 Anything could have happened out there!

See the stats from my modem in the screenshot..


It could, and a reset will achieve nothing if they have inadvertently damaged/disturbed the BT fibre.

There is nothing in that screenshot that shouts to me of being 'out of line', but data from some alternative hardware can be hard to interpret.

To be honest, a 6Mb/s drop is unlikely to even be noticeable on a residential line, personally I would keep my eyes on it, and only worry if the reduction becomes more significant.

Other than that, all you can do is wait until a staffer picks this up.

John
hangar18
Grafter
Posts: 40
Thanks: 15
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2009

Re: Drop in sync speed

Yep.. Thanks for your input.

It may achieve nothing and then again, it may. It did last time.

Netomnia have told me that they should be going live in April. A 1gig symmetrical connection, so guess where I'll be going! 

 

John