cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drop in speed after upgrade

bushyhouse
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 20-12-2009

Drop in speed after upgrade

Hi
I was upgraded to premium on the 25th and am experiencing a considerable loss of speed.
Do the settings on my router need changing? Here is what the routers online status is:
ADSL Information      (ADSL Firmware Version:  E.38.2.23 )
  ATM Statistics TX Blocks RX Blocks Corrected Blocks  Uncorrected Blocks
                          487079         121829         3                                 2
  ADSL Status Mode State         Up Speed Down Speed   SNR Margin Loop Att.
  G.DMT                 SHOWTIME 416000         3552000   23.0                 36.0
Anything to be worried about?
26 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

What does the BT speed test say for you IP Profile?
What does https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed say for your current line speed. If this says 2000 and the BT IP Profile is higher it is a known bug affecting people when they change product. Ring support and they can fix it instantly.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
bushyhouse
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 20-12-2009

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

nope the portal says 6500 line speed!
I have found a setting that allows me to put the router into adsl2+. However when i use this setting i get constant dropouts with an SNR Margin of around 13 and an attentuation at 34.5.
Is this just the adsl2+ checking the line for the max speed?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

It'll be down to the training period following the upgrade, when as you say the line settles and finds its maximum speed. This should be pretty much finished by now, are you still getting fluctuations?
bushyhouse
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 20-12-2009

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

I think i should explain my problems in more detail cos ive done a pretty poor effort above Embarrassed
On the 25th i was upgraded to premium, but from then until now (because we went on holiday for a week) the router has been running on what looks to be G.DMT witth the router stats that i posted  above.  Having got back from holiday I realised that I could select adsl2+ on the routers pppoe settings. When i select adsl2+ from the list the router connects to the internet fine (on adsl2+) but drops after around 30s - 1 minute. Would it be a case of leaving this setting running over night so it can find a stable speed and stick to it?
Basically what im saying is that i cant use the internet properly when using the adsl2+ setting. I just need to know if its normal for the connection to constantly drop out when coonnected to adsl2+ in the early stages so i can find an appropriate time to let it do its job!
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

Have you checked if the firmware on your router is up to date?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
bushyhouse
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 20-12-2009

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

No i havnt, could a firmware update make a large improvement to things?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

Not beyond the realms of possibility. If you could post the router make, model and current firmware version someone might know if it is a likely cause.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
bushyhouse
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 20-12-2009

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

Current firmware version is 2.7.1
Firmware that i will upgrade to tonight is 2.8.2.
The adsl firmware is the same on both E.38.2.23 (UK Standard)
Then i will let  the adsl2+ setting run overnight to see if it stabilises itself, correct?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

What make and model is the router?
bushyhouse
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 20-12-2009

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

Sorry!
Its a draytek vigor 2800 router
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

Hmmm... the release notes for the firmware are at http://www.draytek.co.uk/support/download/readme_v2800.txt - it looks like there have been a couple of revisions since the version you have on there so it'd be well worth a go.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,012
Registered: 01-08-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

An update to the firmware on my BT Voyager 2110 router made all the difference to me getting a stable connection on ADSL2+.    Hopefully updating the firmware on your router will do the same for you.
bushyhouse
Grafter
Posts: 29
Registered: 20-12-2009

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

Ryt ive upgraded my firmware to 2.8.2.
My router also now has a setting for adsl2+ annex m which i have chosen.  I am connected to the internet without a drop so far Embarrassed
Unfortunatly my down speed is still at 4542500 which is around the same as my up speed!
What can be done about this (SNR Margin is 16 and line att is 34.5) if thats of any use to you guys?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,657
Thanks: 884
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Drop in speed after upgrade

The target noise margin is high (probably because of all the issues) and this is restricting your speed.
Now you've resolved the issues I'd suggest it would be appropriate for your line to be reset either for a complete new 10 day training period or just a reset of the noise margin. Hopefully one of the Comms team will pick this up.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)