cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

robsonthejob
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-11-2016

Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

Hi - Anyone using this router - Latest firmware installed etc its connected ok but attainable download rate is 23088 - actual rate is 14333, speed is worst than my old failed router (dead stick so cant look at old settings) - Im very close to Green box, new phone cable to telegraph pole and im only a short distance to exchange - a few hundred yards any ideas to improve the speed/settings ?

7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,918
Thanks: 341
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

This is ADSL2+ not VDSL2?

Sounds like the connection has been banded, and it requires Plusnet to remove the banding.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

Hi there, first of all a warm welcome to the community forums.

 


ejs wrote:

This is ADSL2+ not VDSL2?

Sounds like the connection has been banded, and it requires Plusnet to remove the banding.


Spot on. I've tested your line @robsonthejob and the service is banded at:

Profile Info: WBC 7M - 14M Low delay (INP 0) 6dB Downstream, UC Medium delay (INP 2) 6dB Upstream (ADSL2+)

I'm not identifying the cause of that, so I've removed it. Let us know how you get on.

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
robsonthejob
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-11-2016

Re: Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

Hi - Seems to have done the the trick. See below now 20+MB speed test confirms - thanks. The question is now Why was i banded in the first place ?

Its more annoying as i have contacted PLUSNET several times regarding speed and the fact i cant get fiber yet.

 

Why did no one suggest this before ?

 

 

ATU-R Information
 
 
 
 
 
         Type: ADSL2/2+
         Hardware: Annex A
         Firmware: 05-07-02-08-00-01
         Power Mngt Mode: DSL_G997_PMS_L0
         Line State: SHOWTIME
         Running Mode: ADSL2+ Annex A
         Vendor ID: 00000000 00000000
 
 
 
 
ATU-C Information
 
 
 
        Vendor ID: b5004946 544e71c8 [IFTN]
 
 
 
 
Line Statistics
     
  Downstream             Upstream                
Actual Rate 22750 Kbps 1089 Kbps
Attainable Rate 22916 Kbps 1092 Kbps
Path Mode Interleave Interleave
Interleave Depth 64 1
Actual PSD 20. 0 dB 9. 9 dB
 
 
  Near End                  Far End                   
Trellis ON ON
Bitswap OFF ON
ReTx 0   0  
SNR Margin 6 dB 6 dB
Attenuation 11 dB 5 dB
CRC 27 0
FECS 1320 s 0 s
ES 19 s 0 s
SES 0 s 0 s
LOSS 0 s 0 s
UAS 0 s 0 s
HEC Errors 0 0
RS Corrections 0 0
LOS Failure 2 0
LOF Failure 0 0
LPR Failure 0 0
NCD Failure 0 0
LCD Failure 0 0
NFEC 156 255
RFEC 0 4
LYSMB 274 5780
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 361
Fixes: 114
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

Happy to hear that's worked. I apologise that the banding wasn't spotted before.

 

A line will usually become banded if a fault happens. I tested your line and I wasn't identifying any problems. It could have been the fallout from your old router that failed?

I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
robsonthejob
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 10-11-2016

Re: Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

Hi - Most of teh time the broadband is ok but a few times a day it keeps becoming unresponsive and video/vpn drops out then recovers.

 

Sometimes it fails a few times them stabilizes again - any ideas ?

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 10,016
Thanks: 1,549
Fixes: 19
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

I suggest that sight of your router stats (again) would be a useful starting point please.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,640
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Draytek Vigor 2860n works with Plusnet VDSL

Hi there,

 

Checking your line we saw a number of disconnections on Thursday but these have become much less frequent. Are you still experiencing the same issues?

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff