cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

ONeill
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 09-01-2014

Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Hi all.
I move from O2 LLu and my line was manually activatedon on 31/12/2013 was due to live on 1/1/2014 my previous connection was of about 5338 and about 900 upload with 50 DB attenuation and 5/6 DB SN margin, looking at my settings on plusnet now and it seems I am on  ADSL1 (G.992.1) and not  ADSL2+ (G.992.5).
Router stats
Uptime: 0 days, 4:53:55

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 4,192

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 82.06 / 2.24

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 18.7

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.0 / 50.0

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 15.0 / 8.4

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 40 / -

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 157 / 168,495

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 43 / 103

HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 67

First of all can I have my upload cap removed, could I also be moved to  ADSL2+ (G.992.5) so I could have a better Sn margin and in return have a higher sync rate.
I have also noticed in games that my ping is constantly up and down and not the low 20-40 as I was before on o2.
I have also noticed if I use my own router DGN3500 that it syncs about 200 lower.
Thanks for any help.
40 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping

You'll need to check if your exchange is WBC enabled - pop your phone number in the Sam Knows checker to find out what services are available to you.
If you don't see "21CN WBC status: Enabled" then (a) you can't get ADSL 2(+) and (b) you can get your upload uncapped but it will cost you.
ONeill
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 09-01-2014

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping

I know I can get 21cn as samknows and plusnet exchange checker both shows
21CN WBC status: Enabled
Thats why I am abit puzzled as to why it's not already on it.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping

Don't know and would only be speculating (guessing!) if I suggested any reason.
The DCT guys are likely to pick this up in office hours and should be able to get you switched over.
ONeill
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 09-01-2014

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping

Thanks for that, will have to wait for them  Smiley
ONeill
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 09-01-2014

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Sorry for bumping the thread but it seems it's got missed or you are to busy.
Could you please remove my upload speed cap, it's getting annoying with steam and syncing, could you also sort out my line profile as it seems I am on  ADSL1 (G.992.1) and not  ADSL2+ (G.992.5), which I know my exchange it 21CN/WBC enabled.
I'm not sure if you can do this but can you lower my SNR or do a SNR reset as I know my line can sync higher then this with a SNR of about 5/6 on O2, could be different now I'm on plusnets equipment and not O2 LLU equipment.
I'm not sure if this is plusnet or BT's fault but my ping is also higher then normal 50-70 on uk servers, jumps around alot was about 30 on O2 and 70-90 on EU servers was about 50 on O2.
Thanks for any help you can give on this as I am a bit puzzled on this thats all.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,611
Thanks: 22
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Remember, it's the weekend and DCT are only on here Monday-Friday as a rule.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Hi, I've just requested the upstream uncap for you, it'll be done tomorrow morning - hope it improves things for you.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,627
Thanks: 860
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Matt, any idea why he is on ADSL1? At 50db he might see a small improvement on ADSL2(+).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

It's because of the low speed estimate. Happy to try a modify though I think it'd be best to see how things look after the uncap first.
ONeill
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 09-01-2014

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Thanks for getting back to me, will see what happens with the uncap first before trying to move me to ADSL2+/
Edit:
Router stats now the cap has been removed and before restart of router
Uptime: 0 days, 9:52:51

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 736 / 4,128

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/GB]: 258.69 / 7.04

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 18.8

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 49.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 10.0 / 10.1

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 9 / -

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / -

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 246 / -

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 70 / 8,471

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 8 / 70

HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 673

New Router stats now router has been restarted
Uptime: 0 days, 0:07:56

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 800 / 4,384

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 2.23 / 20.33

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 18.7

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 49.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 11.0 / 9.2

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 2 / -

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 119

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 2

HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 0
It seems to have improved things a bit  Cheesy
Done a quick test in game and ping now seems to be more stable and not up and down still sitting at 50ms though for a uk server.
Upload speed has increased though  Wink and a little change to download speed and connection,will test more later on.
Will my new router stats come back down or will they stay there now ?
Would a move to adsl2+ improve things even more ?.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,627
Thanks: 860
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Going by the up time it resynced in the middle of the night when the cap was removed - and the noise margin is fairly high.
I'd suggest disconnecting and rebooting the router ONCE in the next 3 hours as a daytime resync will usually give a higher sync speed. Can you post the stats again once you've done that.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ONeill
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 09-01-2014

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Just done it Jelv, see my edit post  Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,627
Thanks: 860
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

I wish you'd just added the new stats as a new post then we could have compared the old and new!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
ONeill
Grafter
Posts: 86
Registered: 09-01-2014

Re: Down Load Speed/upload Speed and in game ping problem

Sorry about that Jelv but was already editing it before you said  Sad
Had a power cut yesterday and after a restart today here are my new stats
Uptime: 0 days, 0:06:20

DSL Type: ITU-T G.992.1

Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 768 / 4,224

Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 1.97 / 86.33

Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.5 / 18.6

Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 49.5

SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 11.0 / 9.3

System Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / ----

Chipset Vendor ID (Local/Remote): BDCM / IFTN

Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / -

Loss of Link (Remote): -

Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / -

FEC Errors (Up/Down): 1 / 191

CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

HEC Errors (Up/Down): - / 

Would a modify of my line to ADSL2+ improve things even more for me to get more speed like I did on O2 LLU or is this the best that I can get with plusnet now ?