cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

Dwivvc
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-11-2010

Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

My connection is really bad dropping sometimes up to 10 times per day.
I've done a fault check but plusnet says everything is fine maybe it says everything is fine at your end but it's really really not
these are the results of my fault check
DSL STATUS
xDSL Status Test Summary
Sync Status: Circuit In Sync
General Information
NTE Status:   NTE Power Status: PowerOn Bypass Status:

Upstream DSL Link Information Downstream DSL Link Information
Loop Loss: 17.1 37.5
SNR Margin: 13.5 12.1
Errored Seconds: 0 2
HEC Errors: 0
Cell Count: 88457000 34255861
Speed: 888 7611

Maximum Stable Rate (KBPS): 7392 Fault Threshold Rate (KBPS): 5913
Mean Time Between Retrains (Seconds): 86400 Mean Time Between Errors Upstream (Seconds): 1322
Indicative Line Quality: G Mean Time Between Errors Downstream (Seconds): 545

im attaching the image they sent me as well also i get this happening when i disconnect
21 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

the fault may be at your end rather than the BT end.
what trouble shooting have you done to eliminate possible internal wiring issues?
Dwivvc
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-11-2010

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

I've followed everything the fault checker said to do apart from that I don't know anything about how to check for wiring issues
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

Hi Dwivvc,
We need to check the internal wiring and the easiest way to do that is to try your router plugged directly into the test socket. Do you know if you have one? If you do, take off the lower part of the master socket face plate and plug the router in there. If you don't have a test socket, please ensure you remove all telephone devices (including digiboxes that might be connected to it as well as 'phones) and plug the router directly in. We'll need you to leave it like this for a little while to see if we can see any connection drops.
Of course the problem may also be external, but it's easier, cheaper and quicker to do these tests first.
Thanks,
Tony
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
Dwivvc
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-11-2010

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

Thanks for your prompt reply tony. I've now plugged the router into the test socket and I have no phone so that no cause for concern Tongue
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

How are you connecting to the test socket, is the modem/router plugged into a filter that's different from the one you were connected to previously?
Dwivvc
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-11-2010

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

I unplugged the front and connected the router to the new exposed socket if that's what you mean
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

The connector on the router cable should be different from a normal phone cable. What modem/router is it you are using and can you describe the cables you normally have plugged in?
The front plate that you have removed, what colour wires (if any) are connected to which terminal numbers?
Dwivvc
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-11-2010

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

yeah I changed the filter before and still had the same issue it's a Technicolour TG582n and the only thing that's plugged in is the router and I can't see any wires
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

So do you have any fixed extension sockets in the house at all?
So the front plate you have removed has no wires connected to it?
When the plate is not taken off and with you usual setup, is the filter plugged directly into the main socket? And then just a phone and theTG582n plugged into the filter?
Are you using any extension leads for either of these?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

Hi again,
As Anotherone says, we just need confirmation of these checks. Once that's done, if you can monitor the connection we can see if it's done the trick. If you want us to post your connection logs on the forum, just say and we'll get them for you.
Tony
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
Dwivvc
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-11-2010

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

There is only one phone socket in my plug.
There are no wires that connected the front plate to the socket
It's only the filter that is plugged into the socket and the router is plugged into the filter I don't have a phone I use mobile
I use no extension leads.
Connection was ok for a few days But has been poor today.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,334
Thanks: 2,759
Fixes: 22
Registered: 22-08-2007

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

If you don't have a phone, I guess you have no idea if there is noise on the line?
If you can borrow one, do a quiet line test. Dial 17070 option 2.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 1,834
Thanks: 3
Registered: 24-07-2014

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

Hi.
Please let us know if you do manage to try another phone.
In the mean time, your connection looks a little like this
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image1415032698946.png"/>
This explains why the line is currently banded. I've passed the case back to faults for you with the additional information.
Tony
 Tony
 Plusnet Support
Dwivvc
Grafter
Posts: 44
Registered: 08-11-2010

Re: Done fault check says everything is fine but it isn't

Thank you all for your help but unfortunately ive had to cancel the internet as I disconnected a whooping 10 times yesterday! "No fault was found on your line" I disagree!