cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

pinniger1
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: 11-06-2010

Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

The question is in the header. I've no complaints about my broadband speed, but my Dropbox service uploads very slowly with long periods at 0kbps. I have to restart about every 15 minutes.
7 REPLIES
pinniger1
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: 11-06-2010

Re: Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

I'm currently uploading at 0.2kbps. Not funny.
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,143
Thanks: 549
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

Plusnet don't restrict upload speeds at all apart from VPN on Plusnet Value which is restricted to 448kbps (significant only if upstream speeds are uncapped). Reference Upload Speeds Guide.
David
pinniger1
Grafter
Posts: 54
Registered: 11-06-2010

Re: Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

Many thanks for your help. I'll have to look elsewhere - or use another service.
houlton23
Grafter
Posts: 268
Registered: 22-05-2011

Re: Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

Bit of a stab in the dark but you don't have 'Limit Automatically' enabled in settings do you?

Alex Smiley
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,828
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 36
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

Have you tried running a speed test to see exactly how the upstream is performing?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
GR4CE
Grafter
Posts: 72
Thanks: 1
Registered: 10-08-2010

Re: Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

Quote from: spraxyt
Plusnet Value which is restricted to 448kbps...

What should be the upstream speed for Plusnet Extra?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,143
Thanks: 549
Fixes: 46
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: Does Plusnet throttle Dropbox?

Sync speeds don't depend on product. For an ADSLmax service upstream sync speed should be 448kbps or 832kbps with Max Premium (additional cost option). For 21CN/WBC it is nominally 448kbps unless uncapped in which case it would depend on line capability. Max achievable is just over 1Mbps.
David
David