cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I have the slowest broadband?

ch5497
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-08-2011

Do I have the slowest broadband?

I live nowhere near a city or town centre, so I expect rubbish internet speeds. I was just wondering if anybody gets worse speeds than me? I've just run a speedtest.net test and have got the following which are quite typical results for out here;

Lol, Grade: F!
4 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Do I have the slowest broadband?

At a guess you may be on a 1Mb fixed speed product
Can you post your router stats http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html
anniesboy
Grafter
Posts: 385
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2011

Re: Do I have the slowest broadband?

Mine are close,I live about halfway between Oxford and Reading.
ch5497
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-08-2011

Re: Do I have the slowest broadband?

Quote from: Oldjim
At a guess you may be on a 1Mb fixed speed product
Can you post your router stats http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,96155.0.html

Sorry for the delay Oldjim, here are the stats;
Uptime: 0 days, 0:18:40
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Channel mode: Interleave
Maximum Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 868 / 1,664
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 1,472
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/MB]: 0.00 / 5.84
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 17.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 28.0 / 60.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 17.0 / 9.0
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / P
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 10,952
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
The router has only just been hard reset as again we were having problems with it, so not sure if you have enough info. What can you decipher from these numbers?
ch5497
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎27-08-2011

Re: Do I have the slowest broadband?

Just out of interest, performed another speed test;

I did try a ping test too, but that failed to complete three times.