cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I have an issue?

Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 501
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Do I have an issue?

I was disconnected very early on Sunday morning which I would not expect. Can someone have a quick look ?
Nov 30 06:18:14 PPP link up (Internet) [146.199.77.162]
Info Nov 30 06:18:11 PPP CHAP Receive success (Internet)
Info Nov 30 06:18:10 PPP CHAP Receive challenge from rhost JUNOS (Internet)
Info Nov 30 06:18:10 PPP CHAP Receive challenge from rhost acc-aln1.l-vik (Internet)
Info Nov 30 06:18:09 xDSL linestate up (ITU-T G.992.3; downstream: 6187 kbit/s, upstream: 888 kbit/s; output Power Down: 19.4 dBm, Up: 12.8 dBm; line Attenuation Down: 41.5 dB, Up: 23.2 dB; snr Margin Down: 6.2 dB, Up: 9.8 dB)
Info Nov 30 06:18:02 LOGIN User admin logged in on [HTTP] (from 192.168.1.66)
Warning Nov 30 06:17:45 PPP link down (Internet) [87.112.153.107]
Info Nov 30 06:17:43 xDSL linestate down
Info Nov 30 06:17:13 xDSL linestate down
Info Nov 30 06:16:56 xDSL linestate down
Error Nov 30 06:04:15 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 180.120.170.71 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Error Nov 30 05:56:09 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 119.184.71.251 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Error Nov 30 05:42:06 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 202.75.96.3 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Communication with Destination Host is Administratively Prohibited
Error Nov 30 05:39:59 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 95.252.137.240 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Info Nov 30 05:39:46 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.13.50
Info Nov 30 05:34:40 LOGIN wireless station [84:7a:88:82:18:00] can't get authorized.
Error Nov 30 05:31:02 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 36.48.241.157 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Info Nov 30 04:39:45 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.13.50
Info Nov 30 04:34:40 LOGIN wireless station [84:7a:88:82:18:00] can't get authorized.
Error Nov 30 04:33:53 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 114.38.159.83 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Error Nov 30 04:19:02 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 119.149.151.218 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Error Nov 30 03:59:36 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 62.97.192.22 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Error Nov 30 03:49:29 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 201.48.66.117 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Host Unreacheable
Info Nov 30 03:39:45 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.13.50
Error Nov 30 03:13:03 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 119.56.219.170 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Info Nov 30 02:39:45 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.13.50
Error Nov 30 02:33:39 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 99.119.50.78 Dst ip: 87.112.153.107 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Communication Administratively Prohibited
Info Nov 30 01:39:45 SNTP Synchronised again to server: 212.159.13.50
Let's be careful out there !
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Do I have an issue?

Something is not very good - for a DS attenuation of 41.5dB & SNRM 6.2dB you should be doing much better than 6187kbps, never mind the 888kbps upstream.
It would be a good idea to post the TG582n Full DSL stats
What sync speed have you normally had of late?
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 501
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Re: Do I have an issue?

Hi
The 6Mbps down speed has been quite standard for me for the time I've been with PN and is quite OK for what I do. I only got 6Mbps on LLU with o2. Of late though, and the reason I'm back on the forum, is my recent issue with upload speeds. Sometimes they drop to as low as 0.01 to 0.02 and as a result my security camera, as I've already mentioned, starts flashing 'no connection'.
Funnily enough, after todays outage my speeds are back to normal with the speed tester showing almost 6Mb and 1Mb.
I'm now seriously considering upgrading to FTTC to give me some extra oomph being as it's only another £5 a month for a 10Mbps down increase (the order line checker shows me as a realistic 16Mb / 6Mb). You wouldn't think I was in an urban area near Heathrow!
I did look at the upgrade process but it seems I have to take a phone deal on board at the same time. I'll ring in tomorrow as I pay my BT phone line every 12 months which is quite a bit cheaper and I still have some months left to run.
Let's be careful out there !
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 501
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Re: Do I have an issue?

Fibre ordered  Smiley
Let's be careful out there !
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Do I have an issue?

Good luck with it!
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 177
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: Do I have an issue?

@Kremmen
I think you have done the right thing
I had an iffy connection running at 5Mbps most of the the time. I went for FTTC which was estimated to give 15Mbps. Now I am getting 25Mbps with a brand new Mk 3 socket!  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 501
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Re: Do I have an issue?

Yes, rechecked my likely speed and it's circa 26Mbps / 6Mbps.
What did make me chuckle was that I opted for the 9th Dec from the list of available dates and then got an email an hour later telling me it would be the 15th.
Fitted another power socket near to the master socket for the OpenReach modem as I'm not a fan of adapters.
Let's be careful out there !
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Do I have an issue?

Unfortunately the "booking system" for engineers seems to be a bit of a joke Roll eyes
Kremmen
Rising Star
Posts: 501
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎13-04-2013

Re: Do I have an issue?

Smiley
Not too bothered as I'm an early retiree, any time will suit me fine.
Thanks for your continued help and advice.
My current marker just so I can hopefully chuckle in a few weeks time:

D-  Sad
Let's be careful out there !
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Do I have an issue?

I hope you can more than chuckle (in a good way) Wink