cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dns seems high

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Dns seems high

Is it just me ?
212.159.6.9         	100.46/101.41/102.52/0.55/2
212.159.6.10        101.40/101.85/102.24/0.32/1
212.159.13.49      101.05/101.77/102.36/0.53/0
212.159.13.50      101.50/102.00/102.54/0.39/0
208.67.222.222      18.04/18.27/18.80/0.27/0
208.67.222.220      17.43/18.02/19.06/0.56/0
208.67.222.123      17.94/18.33/18.82/0.35/0
208.67.220.123      17.56/17.96/18.32/0.29/0
8.8.8.8            23.80/23.89/24.07/0.10/0
8.8.4.4            22.91/24.20/25.32/0.92/0
4.2.2.1            18.79/19.36/20.94/0.81/0
4.2.2.6            18.19/19.33/19.92/0.60/0
/pre]
462 REPLIES
plexy
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎28-08-2013

Re: Dns seems high

slow DNS resolution here too. Fine with external DNS providers.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Dns seems high

Plusnet DNS does look rather slow  Undecided
see attachments -
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Dns seems high

Try now...  Cheesy
212.159.6.9         	18.29/18.82/19.28/0.34/0
212.159.6.10        18.30/18.69/18.95/0.27/0
212.159.13.49      18.56/19.04/19.58/0.36/0
212.159.13.50      18.45/18.99/20.08/0.56/0
208.67.222.222      18.05/18.26/18.82/0.29/0
208.67.222.220      18.33/18.44/18.67/0.13/0
208.67.222.123      17.53/18.29/18.81/0.43/0
208.67.220.123      18.04/18.28/18.68/0.24/0
8.8.8.8            23.44/23.79/23.95/0.19/0
8.8.4.4            23.68/24.01/24.34/0.23/0
4.2.2.1            17.59/17.94/18.66/0.38/0
4.2.2.6            17.56/18.24/18.93/0.55/0
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Dns seems high

Better but still not the best (which it should be) -
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Dns seems high

I can't tell properly at the moment, it was an observation while adding more equipment into my network that was playing up last night, after making a few adjustments tonight i've plugged it back in again but i started getting Crazy figures while testing/waiting for it to play up. I wasn't aware that using an old router as an AP would maybe need to have this lot enabled....
RIP Direction: RIP (Routing Information Protocol, RFC1058 and RFC1389) allows a Router to exchange routing information with other Routers. The RIP Direction selection controls how the Router sends and receives RIP packets. Both is the default.
Rip-2M I'm using Multicast IGMPv2
Typical!
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,476
Thanks: 1,197
Fixes: 95
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Dns seems high

Looks like something was definitely poorly between 6.00pm-8.00pm last night:

Undecided

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Dns seems high

Thanks for the conformation bob, i have the sam graph, but as somebody mentioned already the time is wrong, although their test kit seems to be in the uk  46.17.56.234/235
edit: Mind u, the graph server seems to be here 192.99.16.214 which seems to be in france..... hmmmm
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Dns seems high

Here is my SamKnows graph of DNS response times for 12th September (see attachment below).
Sad
My SamKnows graph IS showing the correct time, as I sent SamKnows a seven page report on why their 'whitebox' logging software is TWO HOURS out, and have adjusted my SamKnows box so that it at least generates graphs with the correct time of day displayed.
Crazy
I will have to contact them again about that to see if there has been any progress, because as with everything else that I have reported as not working correctly, they acknowledge there is a problem, send the info to their engineers for fixing, and months later nothing has been done.
Angry
mattturner
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-06-2009

Re: Dns seems high

Hi Purleigh,
What software are you using to create these graphs... it looks interesting and I'd like to get a copy!
Thanks,
Matt
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Dns seems high

@Purleigh what ip do you log into for your dashboard  https://reporting-uk.samknows.com/index.php/dashboard ?  sudo netstat -atnp
Are you saying that they adjusted the time on your samknows box ? if this is the case they are distributing boxs that are ment for another time zone, ie europe.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Dns seems high

Namebench
I use this version - Namebench source file,  which requires Python 2.4 to 2.7 installed on your machine.
Download the above file
Unpack the compressed file
Run the file  "namebench.py"
This window appears - choose [Run]

Enter the list of DNS servers (comma separated) and hit [Start Benchmark]

Works great on Linux, but should work on anything with Python installed !
Wink
mattturner
Grafter
Posts: 246
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎25-06-2009

Re: Dns seems high

Great, I use Ubuntu on one of our test machines in the office, I'll get it installed.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,472
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: Dns seems high

@'30FTTC06' -
Quote from: 30FTTC06
@Purleigh what ip do you log into for your dashboard  https://reporting-uk.samknows.com/index.php/dashboard ?  sudo netstat -atnp

Firefox  Grin
Quote from: 30FTTC06
Are you saying that they adjusted the time on your samknows box ?

Well yes and no !.
I worked out (described below) how to get the time showing correctly using the dashboard.
I then documented how I proved my 'whitebox' was two hours out, and sent the report to SamKnows.
They then overrode what I had set the unit to, in order to set it to the time they thought it might need to be set to for British Summer Time.
I found their value (UTC+1) to still be an hour adrift, and told them.
I then set my unit back to (UTC+2), and the graphs have been correct ever since.

Quote from: 30FTTC06
if this is the case they are distributing boxs that are ment for another time zone, ie europe.

Possibly, but along with the other problems that I have reported, I just think they are incompetent and never tested their software properly.

How I got my 'whitebox' to show the correct time was (see attachment) as follows -
    Login to the SamKnows Dashboard
    On the left hand side, select <Support - Your Details>
    Hit [Edit Details]
    Under "Timezone", choose a timezone of "(UTC +2) Europe/..."
    Then hit [Submit Details]
Doing that makes my SamKnows dashboard graphs show the same time of day as the TBB graphs (which are correct).
I don't yet know what happens at the end of British Summer Time  Huh
Community Veteran
Posts: 2,286
Thanks: 109
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎18-02-2013

Re: Dns seems high

@purleigh i was pointing at doing a netstat while logged into your dashboard Grin
Quote from: 30FTTC06
@Purleigh what ip do you log into for your dashboard  https://reporting-uk.samknows.com/index.php/dashboardsudo netstat -atnp

tcp        0      0 192.168.0.0:50243      192.99.16.214:443      ESTABLISHED 8350/firefox   
Thanks for the info on the server time adjustment, forgot all about that  Smiley As for the samknows box, mine needs restarting at least once a week and the interface page ain't all that either