cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disconnection rate

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 33
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Disconnection rate

After a complete cessation of connecton, apparently due to OR panic work on our line overnight during gales I am experiencing a dozen or so very short disconnections throughout the days since. I have RouterStats Lite working and it reveals that although download speeds are not seriously affected, mostly around 6K, and Noise margin flicks between 9 to 10 db. The cessation was sorted by rebooting the Belkin on advice from your tech boys very promptly using the freephone number OK. but I do wonder if the gales have wobbled my line too much.
Does your Radius display reflect this situation?
Huh
13 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Disconnection rate

Hi Colin, sorry to hear you've got line problems again. Keep an ear on the phone line in the meantime and if you are hearing intermittent noises report a phone fault. There's unlikely to be anyone from CRT on until Monday to look at the Radius log.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 33
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: Disconnection rate

Thanks Chris, I guess that the winds have much to answer for. It will be useful to see what PN's end looks like tomorrow.
I have kept a couple of snips of RSL displays if you are interested. How do I attach them to a PM?
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Disconnection rate

I'll drop you a PM later, Colin.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 33
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: Disconnection rate

TA!
C.
JTaylor
Grafter
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎18-08-2014

Re: Disconnection rate

Morning guys
Just had a look over your account and I can see a lot of drops. Although the type of drop it's reporting isn't too much to go by, I would like to ask if you managed to try a different router at any point?
Here is the visual radius image for you to have a look over.
<img src="http://community.plus.net/visualradius/generated/image14144060236167.png"/><div style="clear:both;"></div>
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Disconnection rate

Hmm, thought provoking.
I seem to remember seeing something similar ages back Colin, where it "appears" as if virtually all those session drops are happening when you are using the BB - or maybe lots of phone calls? Any thoughts Colin?
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 33
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: Disconnection rate

@Jack T
The gap tues/weds 21-22 indicate the complete break that seems to be detected by OR and was worked on during the night presumably making good a lne break due to strong gusty winds. But the increase in drop rate did accur before this.
I have not tried another router because I do not have one (the PN supplied BT Voyager v210 died a big death) The present one isa Belkin N and is wired.
@Anotherone,
Most of the drops are at times when I could have been on-line but a few were definitly out of my hours. There does not seem to be any real correlation with  much of the time...look at the periods when connections were perfect and I was not absent..  Phone calls tend to be randomly spread over most of the respectable times during the day (I am on BT for phone not PN).
What I do seen from RSL is that each drop does sometimes affect the data speed up or down a bit and the noise margin some times flicks between 9 and10dbs but happens more often than drops. Overall the data speeds have remained just a bit lower than the best at 7616K @6db following the last visit from OR engineer, who did a super job by overhauling every joint and pair this side of our bridge which has been maintaine for quite some time.
JTaylor
Grafter
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎18-08-2014

Re: Disconnection rate

Hi colintivy
I've tested the line and the report we are getting suggests a 'Customer Domain Issue' meaning it's looking like equipment is the problem.
I would highly suggest redoing any checks you previously have and ideally seeing if you can swap the router out for a different one.
The link below has all the information for the checks you'll need.
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/bbfaults/adsl-connection-troubleshooting.shtml
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Disconnection rate

Can you provide the detail of that test please Jack, which will be a big help.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 33
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: Disconnection rate

@ Jack,
It wold be sad if the problem is with my equipment considering that there have been fairly lengthy periods of unbroken connection. Anotherone did suggest that most of the recent drops could well be when BB was in use which could support your suggestiom but ther are a few which are quite outside my activity timescale! Any way I will try to borrow a respectable router if I can.
@Anotherone,
I have your email of yesterday and have replied. I will peruse the method of attaching here and will try to post the RSL graphs that you have for Jack's information.
C.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Disconnection rate

Probably not much point in posting those here Colin, just use the info for future reference should you wish to post attachments here in the future  Wink
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,375
Thanks: 33
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: Disconnection rate

Hi Chris,
OK, I have set up the folder as specified and will use it when neccesary.
Thanks
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Disconnection rate

OK here is my guidance for RouterStatsLite -
Create a folder some where convenient - ideally in root (C:/) so there's no privilege issues. You can create another folder somewhere if you want to save the Captures and Log file in a different one.. Below is my suggested setup -
Do not click on the Start Arrow, bottom left, yet! But it ought to automatically open at the Setup tab the first time anyway. Maximise the RouterStats Window.
First go to the Setup tab, then the Router tab and select your modem/router.
The URL tab should show the path where you get the stats, tick the box for the full path.
On the Login tab, there should be a tick in the box 'Router requires you to login'
The Username will show the default one, which you may have changed (admin for the 582n).
The password may be a default one (unless changed by you) or the one provided with the router originally - note, this is not your broadband password.
On the Graph tab, initially, untick the Adjust axis automatically boxes, you may want to alter the settings later. For the Noise Margin, set the Maximum to 12 and the Minimum to 0. For the Connection Speed set the maximum to 9000, minimum to 3000. Tick Noise Margin Vertical Axis 'Plot average value of previous 50 points', but not the Connection Speed average. Remember to click Apply on both boxes (and any other time  you make changes).
In the Sample Interval box choose 'Sample router every 10 seconds' and 'Points per page 720'
Next, go to the Capture tab. Define the folder where you want to save the Captured graphs, this could be the folder where you've installed RSL or another of your choice. Tick 'Capture noise margin graph images', also tick 'Capture part-graphs when RouterStats-Lite closes'. Tick the other two graphs if you wish. I'd tick the sync speed in the current situation.
Go to the Log tab, type the filename you want for the log, e.g. RSLite.txt & then browse to the folder you want to save it in, suggest the same as the graphs, when selected, the full pathname will appear in the box. Comma separated values is selected by default, and log every 1 sample.
Nothing to change on the Appearance tab.
On the System tab, tick 'Minimise to system tray', 'Prompt before closing', 'Show noise margin on tray icon' & 'Show tooltip hints'. If you want the Ping plotter, tick that as well. On the PIng tab you need to specify the IP address to ping - try 212.159.13.49 - one of Plusnet's ntp servers.
You can now go to the Noise Margin tab and click on the green Start button. You should see a Green Camera icon on the LHS showing capture is active.
If you  right click on the graph, the drop down menu shows a tick against Capture. You will also see some other handy options you can use at any time.
There is minor bugs in various recent versions where the ping is not always being Captured automatically, so if you want one, do a right click Capture now, also the Ping Capture setting is not being retained on Close. It also saves blank graphs when it's not running for every config change and extra graphs when it is running, so check and delete those not required taking up disk space.
Maximise the RouterStats window before Minimising it to the Tray. This ensures captures are at the full screen size showing the most detail (as far as the SNRM is concerned).
HTH.
NB. For other readers, if you don't select the Automatic Graph settings, choose values to suit your own line conditions.