cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disconnected because idle timeout reached

theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Disconnected because idle timeout reached

Hey guys and gals,
Just had a disconnection last night and the last error message was "Disconnected because idle timeout reached"
The broadband light was still going but the internet light was red. My router is the bog standard one from PN.
Anyway know how to stop this happening in the future?
Cheers
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,607
Thanks: 20
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

You need to set the Idle Timeout period in the router to 0 (zero). You'll need to let us know which router you are using if you don't know where to find the setting. If it's already at zero, then something else is wrong.
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

Hi Jaggies,
I'm using the Technicolour TG582N router.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

Have you made any changes to the Idle Timeout function on the router?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

I think I had set it to zero last night.
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

Did this cause your connection to drop or was you able to continue using the service as normal?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

I think it was not long after it that the connection dropped.
Dan_the_Van
Grafter
Posts: 296
Thanks: 1
Registered: 25-06-2007

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

Post removed..
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

Let us know if this happens again as it appears to have been a one-off?
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Disconnected because idle timeout reached

I'll keep a look out.