cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Did BT do something?

FatsHairback
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 08-07-2009

Did BT do something?

I moved into this house a couple of months back and I swear I was getting 3.5Mb download speeds for the first four weeks or so, which was fine by me because I'm kind of out in the sticks and I think the exchange is a ways away.
Then I had a fault on the line during which time the broadband wouldn't connect at all, a BT engineer came out and fixed it but since then the broadband has been very slow.
It looks like I'm now on a fixed rate 512K line and I get speed tests results that vary from 466kbps in the morning to as little as 87kbps around tea time. I used to love tea time, now I hate it. Did BT do this? And why? Can it be undone?
Here are some figures for those who understand such things...
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 288 / 576
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 11.5 / 16.0
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.5 / 52.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 18.0 / 29.5
Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC
Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 7 / 0
Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 1 / 0
Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
Loss of Link (Remote): 0
Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 3 / 0
FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0
They mean nothing to me, but do they show that I ought to be getting a better speed than this? As I say, I'm sure I did alright that first month, but have no proof of that because there was no problem to lead me to get any.
If anyone could give me any guidance on this, i'd really appreciate it.
Cheers
Fats
5 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,007
Thanks: 1,245
Fixes: 51
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Did BT do something?

Your downstream noise margin looks bad but there are guys around here that love tackling issues like this.
Hang around a bit and one will be along. Smiley

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,574
Thanks: 1,106
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Did BT do something?

You look to be on a fixed 512 profile, see here http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/linestats.htm
If that's the case then PN should be able to get it lifted and your speed increased.
Will Moderate For Thanks
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Did BT do something?

It does look like a fixed profile, it's the 288 upload that gives it away. Raise a question to our support team and ask them to check if you are on MaxDSL and if not to place an order for it.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
FatsHairback
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 08-07-2009

Re: Did BT do something?

Thanks fellas, did that and went I got back today I had this:
DSL Type: G.992.1 annex A
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 448 / 5,728
Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.5
Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 30.5 / 52.0
SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 14.0 / 6.0
Which is promising. BT Speedtester still says I'm limited to 500k and actual throughput is still 466kbps but I'm assuming that'll catch up at some stage. If I end up anywhere near 5Mb I'll be cock-a-hoop.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Did BT do something?

Looks pretty good from this end.
Certainly better than what I used to get on a shorter telephone line!
I'd expect the profile to pick up soon.