cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSCP settings.

flaminmoses
Grafter
Posts: 270
Registered: 09-02-2012

DSCP settings.

Is it true you can set the download to (lets say the ps3) another ip on the network to accept certain packets quicker and leave the upload as normal for these packets or all outbound packets?
Im stuck trying to find a router which does this.
the billion might do but id never be able to find out unless i got one.
mine , the asus rt-n56u , has prioritisation but thats just for bandwidth.......although certain packets are made a priority.
4 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,006
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: DSCP settings.

Can I ask why you want to do this? Gaming traffic on most of our accounts is prioritised so will be taken care of by us.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

flaminmoses
Grafter
Posts: 270
Registered: 09-02-2012

Re: DSCP settings.

Still getting issues on fifa and occasional lag on bo2
on fifa my opponents can run around like hares being chased by a greyhound whilst mine turn like steve bould on skates.
youll probably know from my profile my ping is decent.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,006
Thanks: 792
Fixes: 70
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: DSCP settings.

You shouldn't see any problems as long as you're not saturating your upstream bandwidth doing other stuff at the same time. Certainly not to the degree where you'd have to worry about router QoS.
Your profile may be OK but your connection looks far from stable:
Session Started	Session Ended	Session Duration
11:20 29/Nov/2012 N/A   0:20:9 (on going)
10:15 29/Nov/2012 11:20 29/Nov/2012   1:4:3
10:09 29/Nov/2012 10:15 29/Nov/2012   0:5:46
16:33 28/Nov/2012 23:33 28/Nov/2012   7:0:20
15:44 28/Nov/2012 16:32 28/Nov/2012   0:47:59
15:38 28/Nov/2012 15:44 28/Nov/2012   0:5:25
15:36 28/Nov/2012 15:38 28/Nov/2012   0:1:45
15:35 28/Nov/2012 15:36 28/Nov/2012   0:1:39
10:31 28/Nov/2012 15:34 28/Nov/2012   5:2:50
10:42 27/Nov/2012 01:47 28/Nov/2012   15:4:45
00:36 27/Nov/2012 02:16 27/Nov/2012   1:40:5
00:18 27/Nov/2012 00:34 27/Nov/2012   0:16:7
22:01 26/Nov/2012 00:14 27/Nov/2012   2:13:4
22:00 26/Nov/2012 22:00 26/Nov/2012   0:0:33
21:57 26/Nov/2012 21:59 26/Nov/2012   0:2:44
21:56 26/Nov/2012 21:56 26/Nov/2012   0:0:31
21:41 26/Nov/2012 21:55 26/Nov/2012   0:14:0
21:36 26/Nov/2012 21:40 26/Nov/2012   0:4:6
21:36 26/Nov/2012 21:36 26/Nov/2012   0:0:20
21:32 26/Nov/2012 21:35 26/Nov/2012   0:2:58
20:47 26/Nov/2012 21:29 26/Nov/2012   0:41:25
20:46 26/Nov/2012 20:47 26/Nov/2012   0:1:2
20:45 26/Nov/2012 20:46 26/Nov/2012   0:0:54
20:41 26/Nov/2012 20:45 26/Nov/2012   0:3:51
09:59 26/Nov/2012 20:41 26/Nov/2012   10:41:9
20:26 25/Nov/2012 01:54 26/Nov/2012   5:28:16
20:19 25/Nov/2012 20:26 25/Nov/2012   0:6:40
20:07 25/Nov/2012 20:19 25/Nov/2012   0:11:27
20:03 25/Nov/2012 20:06 25/Nov/2012   0:3:17
20:02 25/Nov/2012 20:02 25/Nov/2012   0:0:1
19:58 25/Nov/2012 20:02 25/Nov/2012   0:3:53
10:00 25/Nov/2012 19:57 25/Nov/2012   9:56:46
09:56 25/Nov/2012 10:00 25/Nov/2012   0:3:30
22:00 24/Nov/2012 01:42 25/Nov/2012   3:42:11
21:46 24/Nov/2012 22:00 24/Nov/2012   0:14:0
21:42 24/Nov/2012 21:46 24/Nov/2012   0:3:43
15:59 24/Nov/2012 21:41 24/Nov/2012   5:42:3
15:56 24/Nov/2012 15:58 24/Nov/2012   0:1:58
15:42 24/Nov/2012 15:56 24/Nov/2012   0:13:43
15:30 24/Nov/2012 15:33 24/Nov/2012   0:2:48
15:17 24/Nov/2012 15:29 24/Nov/2012   0:11:28
15:08 24/Nov/2012 15:15 24/Nov/2012   0:6:32
09:50 24/Nov/2012 15:07 24/Nov/2012   5:17:44
16:43 23/Nov/2012 00:35 24/Nov/2012   7:52:23
13:19 23/Nov/2012 16:41 23/Nov/2012   3:22:10
12:31 23/Nov/2012 13:17 23/Nov/2012   0:46:0
11:53 23/Nov/2012 12:29 23/Nov/2012   0:35:57
09:22 22/Nov/2012 02:14 23/Nov/2012   16:52:50

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

flaminmoses
Grafter
Posts: 270
Registered: 09-02-2012

Re: DSCP settings.

A lot of that was router firmware testing......couldnt load the firmware (new interface on the rt-n56u) so had to keep rebooting.
then after testing it with the psn i changed it back due to nat issues.......the ps3 wouldnt do a speedtest!!!!!
wasnt easy to change back lol
when i did it still wouldnt do the speedtest on the old firmware ......which it had done previous.!!!!
so changed it back to the new one.

i turn my router off at night because i end up having to reboot it anyway......im aware that might be the problem so am on the look out for a new one......if one had the otion to set dscp values then it may kill 2 birds with one stone.