cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

Does anyone know which DNS servers the relay mail servers use for routing outgoing mail?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
9 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,498
Thanks: 1,230
Fixes: 97
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

IIRC, it used to be some caches we had based in Sheffield. Not sure if that's still the case though, I'd have to ask around tomorrow.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

That's what I thought.
The reason I'm asking is that an account I created at 15:19 is still not accepting mail. I was wanting to try a dig on the DNS server used by relay (ns1.force9.net has the DNS records - ns2.force9.net doesn't).
Edit: Wasn't it the DNS servers used by dialup?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,498
Thanks: 1,230
Fixes: 97
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

Quote from: jelv
The reason I'm asking is that an account I created at 15:19 is still not accepting mail. I was wanting to try a dig on the DNS server used by relay (ns1.force9.net has the DNS records - ns2.force9.net doesn't).

I'd give it a while longer jelv but if it's the same tomorrow morning then give this thread a bump as I'd have expected it to be showing on both auth servers by then.
Quote
Wasn't it the DNS servers used by dialup?

I've no idea if I'm honest although it could well be.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

It shouldn't take 6 hours!
I think CSC are talking to Networks - can you see if a problem has been raised? (When I rang in he checked another account which had been created today and that was the same)
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jprestwood
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-05-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

Quote from: jelv
It shouldn't take 6 hours!
I think CSC are talking to Networks - can you see if a problem has been raised? (When I rang in he checked another account which had been created today and that was the same)

It was me, I checked with Bob and he said exactly the same to me as he said above Smiley
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,498
Thanks: 1,230
Fixes: 97
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

As per my reply to your PM jelv, I'll pick this up tomorrow morning if it's still a problem. I don't think it's worth getting anybody out of bed for and I've known it to take longer in the past.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

Well ns1.force9.net and ns2.force9.net are now telling the same story.
However looking at the caching servers they are not yet - but they are improving:
212.156.13.49, 212.159.13.50 & 212.159.6.10 look OK but 212.159.6.9 doesn't have any of the mx-postini.last.plus.net. records
Are there two more caching servers in the other London centre and if so what are their IPs?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,722
Thanks: 936
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

I've just checked 212.159.6.9 again and it is now giving fewer A records than the last time I checked.
What is going on?
Earlier:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\dns\bin>dig @212.159.6.9 elvin2.plus.com mx
; <<>> DiG 9.4.0-(Hawk)-8.21 <<>> @212.159.6.9 elvin2.plus.com mx
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 5
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 6
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;elvin2.plus.com.              IN      MX
;; ANSWER SECTION:
elvin2.plus.com.        39897  IN      MX      10 mx-postini.core.plus.net.
elvin2.plus.com.        39897  IN      MX      20 mx-postini.last.plus.net.
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
plus.com.              32418  IN      NS      ns1.force9.net.
plus.com.              32418  IN      NS      ns2.force9.net.
;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
mx-postini.core.plus.net. 84    IN      A      64.18.4.10
mx-postini.core.plus.net. 84    IN      A      64.18.4.11
mx-postini.core.plus.net. 84    IN      A      64.18.4.13
mx-postini.core.plus.net. 84    IN      A      64.18.4.14
ns1.force9.net.        24728  IN      A      195.166.128.16
ns2.force9.net.        25254  IN      A      195.166.128.17
;; Query time: 109 msec
;; SERVER: 212.159.6.9#53(212.159.6.9)
;; WHEN: Thu Dec 04 09:59:30 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 244

About 10 minutes later:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\dns\bin>dig @212.159.6.9 elvin2.plus.com mx
; <<>> DiG 9.4.0-(Hawk)-8.21 <<>> @212.159.6.9 elvin2.plus.com mx
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 308
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;elvin2.plus.com.              IN      MX
;; ANSWER SECTION:
elvin2.plus.com.        39461  IN      MX      20 mx-postini.last.plus.net.
elvin2.plus.com.        39461  IN      MX      10 mx-postini.core.plus.net.
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
plus.com.              31982  IN      NS      ns1.force9.net.
plus.com.              31982  IN      NS      ns2.force9.net.
;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.force9.net.        24292  IN      A      195.166.128.16
ns2.force9.net.        24818  IN      A      195.166.128.17
;; Query time: 93 msec
;; SERVER: 212.159.6.9#53(212.159.6.9)
;; WHEN: Thu Dec 04 10:06:46 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 180
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,498
Thanks: 1,230
Fixes: 97
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: DNS servers used by relay.plus.net

Seems OK now.
C:\Documents and Settings\Bobby>nslookup -type=mx elvin2.plus.com 212.159.6.9
Server:  ptn-cdns01.plus.net
Address:  212.159.6.9
Non-authoritative answer:
elvin2.plus.com MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = mx-postini.core.plus.net
elvin2.plus.com MX preference = 20, mail exchanger = mx-postini.last.plus.net
plus.com        nameserver = ns2.force9.net
plus.com        nameserver = ns1.force9.net
mx-postini.core.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.14
mx-postini.core.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.10
mx-postini.core.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.11
mx-postini.core.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.13
mx-postini.last.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.14
mx-postini.last.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.10
mx-postini.last.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.11
mx-postini.last.plus.net        internet address = 64.18.4.13
ns1.force9.net  internet address = 195.166.128.16
ns2.force9.net  internet address = 195.166.128.17

Not sure why there was that discrepancy earlier, I'll ask around tomorrow to see if anybody can think of why you'd see that...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵