cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DIY Fibre

MrHLancashire

DIY Fibre

I read on a post somewhere on the internet written back in 2013, that BT were going to offer DIY FTTC. Basically they send you the new faceplate and hardware, and you connect it yourself, negating the need for an engineer to come to your house.
Is this something that plusnet offer or will be offering, as it's not exactly rocket science.
Secondly, as an existing ADSL customer, when I look on the site for upgrading, it tells me if you have ADSL you will need a new router, but I know that the Technicolor routers are dual purpose (I work in IT and use these at work even though they are the worst routers ever for its user interface  :().
Thanks guys.
14 REPLIES 14
tijara33
Pro
Fixes: 6

Re: DIY Fibre

Plusnet fibre requires a separate modem & therefore an engineer visit. They do provide a separate router although I believe that the ADSL router can receive a firmware update to modify it.
As you correctly state, it's rubbish anyway. I use an Asus dual band fibre router.
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Hi MrHLancashire,
The fact that a separate router and modem is used for fibre has nothing to do with the necessity for an engineer visit.  Rather I think BTOR have simply not yet made this generally available.
As for the TG routers, the firmware is different between the ADSL and FTTC versions - I believe neither works with the other, so at the point of service switch over, you'd be left with no then working unit, unless you had a very carefully managed migration plan.  I guess that is something which you or I could sort out, but would be beyond the ability and experience of 95% of users.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

ejs
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 25