cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DD WRT configuration for plusnet

Lexius
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 14-09-2012

DD WRT configuration for plusnet

Hi, the router supplied with my account is not really up to the job. So I got another router with DD-WRT on but dont seem top have had much success configuring it
I have spent 2 days trying to configure dd wrt for plus net, has any one managed to do this successfully?
I have tried a lot of things reboots, re-sets.
besides the:
connection Type: PPPoE
User Name        : myusername@plusdsl.net
Password          : ************
what other setings need changing
when I try to 'Connect' i breifly get a screen telling me "Connection Type:    Disabled"
Thanks in advance for any help

10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,554
Thanks: 664
Fixes: 50
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

Quote
PPPoA for a start unless you are on fibre

@Jim,DD-WRT doesn't work with ADSL modem/routers ( well actually there's a prototype which works with just one, the WBMR-HP-G300H ) it's designed for WAN routers as used on fibre.
@lexius, There was a problem on DD-WRT V24 with PPPoE connections. V24 SP1 fixed it http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=32311&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0
Lexius
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

thanks for thr responses, I cant see an option for PPPoA anyway, just PPPoE and im on broadband/ adsl.
Part of my 2 day attempt to work out the config was spent reading that post on dd-wrt and I have V24 SP2 installed.
any other ideas?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

The next question is which router
Lexius
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

Linksys WRT54-GS v4
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

I don't think that includes an ADSL modem so it won't work unless you use it as a wireless access point from your existing router
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 6,554
Thanks: 664
Fixes: 50
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

Correct Jim.
@Lexius, How are you connecting that to your ADSL line ?

Lexius
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

I am connecting it by plugging the telephone line in the back of the modem.
So are you saying that even though it has the correct connection in the back for the telephone jack, that must just be for a dail up line and not ADSL?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

If you look at the basic installation guide you will see that it needs a modem in front of it
From the guide - see this picture
Alternatively an ADSL router see second picture
Lexius
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 14-09-2012

Re: DD WRT configuration for plusnet

ok that was pretty dumb of me, thanks - I didnt actually have the manual - it was missing from the router box, but that s no excuse really, as I am sure its easily downloadable.
thanks again.