cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

D-link DSL-320B modem fails to connect to router.

mncooper

D-link DSL-320B modem fails to connect to router.

Having spent much time trying to connect the plusnet supplied DSL-320B modem to my existing Buffalo Airstation wireless router I thought I would post a query here. I have not tried the suggestion in http://community.plus.net/forum/index.php/topic,36358.msg330468.html so that may solve the problem but it still warrants discussion.
The modem says that it has some form of built in firewall/routing and a dhcp server for the internal LAN. When connecting this to a PC the internet settings are as follows:
IP: 87.112.32.1
Subnet mask: 255.255.255.255
Gateway: 192.168.1.1
DHCP server: 192.168.1.1
DNS: 212.159.6.9
I'm not an expert but this looks like it shouldn't work as the gateway/subnet mask are incompatible. It seems that the modem is directly transferring IP, subnet and DNS from the adsl but supplying it's own gateway and DHCP server. Has anyone used this modem or got any ideas to try?
Many thanks.
3 REPLIES 3
MickKi
Grafter

Re: D-link DSL-320B modem fails to connect to router.

Quote from: mncooper
The modem says that it has some form of built in firewall/routing and a dhcp server for the internal LAN.

I thought that your DSL-320B "modem" is a "router".  As such it performs network address translation separating Internet (WAN) IP addresses from local (LAN) addresses.  However, it seems that it performs a half-bridge connection when it functions as a 'modem', passing on the Internet IP address to your PC/router in your LAN.
So, within your LAN, communications take place using the 192.168.1.0/255.255.255.0 subnet and that's how you can access your modem's admin GUI.  From the Internet communications (inbound) take place using your 87.112.32.1 IP address.