cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Current line speed:12.5Mb

jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Current line speed:12.5Mb

Hi,
I have recently upgraded to Unlimited broadband and I have found that I am still being caped.  My router has confirmed that my line is capable of 17Mb and 1.5Mb upload, noise readings have confirmed there is no issues, but my current line speed has been caped to 12.5Mb down and 1Mb up, speed tests have confirmed this.
In the past (been with plusnet for about 7 years) I have managed to get support to reset the cap, but this time they are not playing ball even though I am on the new unlimited package,
Does anyone now how to get this sorted?
Kind regards
James
25 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 25,991
Thanks: 1,239
Fixes: 50
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Run the BT speedtest at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ click on the Further Diagnostics, put in your phone number and post the results from that page.
Also what does this say https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: 18-07-2007

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Hi there,
Your line was banded for some reason, it looks like you were pretty consistently hitting the top of the band so I've requested an SNR reset for you. It should take effect within the next 4 hours or so and your line should retrain to its best available speed.
Hope that helps.
jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Hi guys,
Thank you so much, I will check everything when I get home from work tonight, and post what I find out.
Kind regards
James
jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Hi,
So here are my results in the attached files and current profile connection below:
Estimated line speed:
17Mb (This may vary between 10Mb and 19.5Mb) - Checked on 2013-05-02 17:26:21
Current line speed:
12.6 Mb
The issue i have had with plusnet is that every time that ADSL service has been upgraded, so recently the exchange increased to 17mb, for a while (about four months) I get that speed, but after time i then get capped back down, as shown here above. I know that they say this is all to do with my connect to the exchange, but you can see my router shows I can go higher.
In the past there has been a couple of occasions when I have spoken to support and they removed the cap and the current line speed returned to 17mb or the max speed at that time (used to be 8mb). As soon as they did this my speed matched the maximum, but only for a few months as I was then capped down again.
I had hoped that with unlimited this would not happen again.
Any ideas most welcome.
Kind regards
James
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

I've changed your speed profile according to your sync rate so your should see an improvement in your speeds.
Your line has been disconnecting fairly frequently which can cause you speed issues on your line;
<img src="http://ccgi.psmith12.plus.com/visradius/generated/image13711075741408.png"/>
Have you got any devices plugged into your phone line?
jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Thanks for setting the sync rate, we'll see what happens.
But what is going on there in that reportHuh
The router is left on 24/7.  I sometimes notice that the connection drops but it is rare, but I had no idea it was that bad!
What was going on in the early hours this morning and last Friday?? And why does it say offline for 3 days, that just makes no sense.
I am not sure what would cause that at all.
I have drawn a diagram showing the network to see if anyone notices something odd.
Or could this be router issues, lines issues or malicious attacks?
Kind regards
James
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,423
Thanks: 1,008
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

where do you have filters fitted or is the splitter a filter
jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Good point filters are splitter sorry
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,606
Thanks: 20
Registered: 29-06-2010

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Quote from: jamespaul
And why does it say offline for 3 days, that just makes no sense.

It says online for 3 days...
jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

should have gone to specsavers  Embarrassed
thanks for pointing that one out, well that's one thing not to worry about!
But does anyone have any ideas about what could be causing that many drop outs?
jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Hi, so speed tests have confirmed that by plusnet changing the speed profile helps speeds at my end, many thanks for that: see attached
I just need to find out why the router keeps disconnecting:
I will keep track of error logs on my router to see if that throws up anything.
If anyone has any idea I would love to hear them.
Many thanks
James
jamespaul
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 12-06-2013

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

Hi,
This is my log report from yesterday.
Does anyone here notice anything out of the ordinary?
System Log
06/14/2013 07:59:14 192.168.2.6 login success
06/14/2013 07:24:12 sending ACK to 192.168.2.2
06/14/2013 07:24:11 sending ACK to 192.168.2.2
06/14/2013 07:24:10 sending OFFER to 192.168.2.2
06/14/2013 06:09:29 NTP Date/Time updated.
06/14/2013 00:09:28 NTP Date/Time updated.
06/13/2013 23:07:47 sending ACK to 192.168.2.7
06/13/2013 23:00:44 sending ACK to 192.168.2.3
06/13/2013 23:00:43 sending OFFER to 192.168.2.3
06/13/2013 18:59:44 sending ACK to 192.168.2.6
06/13/2013 18:47:17 sending ACK to 192.168.2.7
06/13/2013 18:23:56 If(ATM1) PPP connection ok !
06/13/2013 18:23:55 ATM1 get IP:80.229.15.222
06/13/2013 18:23:45 ATM1 start PPP
06/13/2013 18:23:45 Dial On Demand(ATM1)
06/13/2013 18:23:45 ADSL Media Up !
06/13/2013 18:22:59 ATM1 stop PPP
06/13/2013 18:22:58 ADSL Media Down !
06/13/2013 18:21:05 192.168.2.6 login success
06/13/2013 18:12:10 sending ACK to 192.168.2.6
06/13/2013 18:10:58 NTP Date/Time updated.
06/13/2013 18:10:32 Can't find NTP time.
06/13/2013 18:10:10 If(ATM1) PPP connection ok !
06/13/2013 18:10:09 ATM1 get IP:80.229.15.222
06/13/2013 18:10:05 ATM1 start PPP
06/13/2013 18:10:05 Dial On Demand(ATM1)
06/13/2013 18:09:53 ADSL Media Up !
06/13/2013 18:09:22 sending ACK to 192.168.2.2
06/13/2013 18:09:21 sending ACK to 192.168.2.2
06/13/2013 18:09:20 sending OFFER to 192.168.2.2
06/13/2013 18:09:19 sending OFFER to 192.168.2.2
06/13/2013 18:09:09 sending ACK to 192.168.2.6
Firewall Log
06/14/2013 00:26:59 **UDP Loop** 173.242.121.199, 39471->> 80.229.15.222, 19 (from ATM1 Inbound)
06/13/2013 19:32:03 **UDP Loop** 89.248.172.173, 39336->> 80.229.15.222, 19 (from ATM1 Inbound)
06/13/2013 18:52:55 **TCP FIN Scan** 74.125.137.120, 443->> 192.168.2.6, 51007 (from ATM1 Inbound)
06/13/2013 18:52:55 **TCP FIN Scan** 216.239.32.20, 443->> 192.168.2.6, 50958 (from ATM1 Inbound)
06/13/2013 18:52:55 **TCP FIN Scan** 93.184.219.82, 80->> 192.168.2.6, 50982 (from ATM1 Inbound)
06/13/2013 18:52:55 **TCP FIN Scan** 173.194.41.101, 80->> 192.168.2.6, 50927 (from ATM1 Inbound)
06/13/2013 18:52:55 **TCP FIN Scan** 173.194.70.139, 443->> 192.168.2.6, 50975 (from ATM1 Inbound)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) chrispurvey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 5,369
Fixes: 1
Registered: 13-07-2012

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

I'd suggest running through our faults wizard, we'll then take a look over your line to see what's going on.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,099
Thanks: 434
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Current line speed:12.5Mb

A couple of further things for you -
when your run the BTw Performance test (ignore the red preamble except make sure no other programs are using the Internet) and at the end of the first run, you then click the Further Diagnostics button, enter just your Phone number and Run the Further Diagnostics Test. There is no need to grab an image of the first test or post it, and you can just do a Copy and Paste of the results of the Diagnostic test and post (no need to grab an image).
The BT IP Profile that it gives you should be what your Current Line speed (Login required) is set to.
I wouldn't rely on the ping result from the first part of the BTw test. If you want a more accurate assessment of your ping open a Cmd prompt and ping ntp.plus.net or run something like pingtest.net
Also, you may probably find that you can just Copy and Paste your Modem/router stats as well, instead of grabbing an image.
As far as the logs go, those entries look familiar in the sense I have seen that format/detail before, but I'm not familiar with which Modem/Router it is. If you can say which make, model and version it is,. someone more familiar may be able to add more informed comment.
That said, there are 2 things I've spotted that ought to be checked on -
The entries show <Dial On Demand(ATM1)>. Generally speaking, PPP connection settings would normally be set to <Always on> . I don't how relevant that may be here for your modem/router.
The other is the Firewall entries - these obviously suggest some sort of port scanning - do you use Skype, or P2P software, VPN etc. I'm thinking that maybe you don't have the Plusnet Firewall turned on at all and having it set to Low is beneficial in most cases unless you want to use any of those ports incoming, that it closes.