Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Current Line Speed/Sync Speed versus Router Speed

Adderman
Grafter

Current Line Speed/Sync Speed versus Router Speed

Hello all.
I'm on PlusNet Broadband Your Way Option 1 (Monthly Contract) and use a Netgear DG834Gv5 router on ethernet  (no wireless at all).
Now please excuse me but I'm not a techie.
I have noticed lately some real slowing up of my broadband speeds from say 7.00pm on over the last few nights. Software updates and some websites have been really slow to load. So I took a look at my router stats for 20.35 hrs this evening 13/10/09 which showed the following:

ADSL Link          Downstream                                Upstream
Connection Speed 5440 kbps  **                          448 kbps
Line Attenuation  40.5 db                                         18.5 db
Noise Margin         10.5 db                                  21 db

(** I have normally been achieving just over 5600kbps but even then I don't know if that's good?)

Anyway, I took a look at the Plusnet Broadband Max links and they tell me this:

"Current line speed":
What does "Current line speed" mean?
The speed shown above is based on your sync speed. This is always a little higher than the speed at which data will actually be downloaded over your broadband connection. Find out more about sync speed.

6. Sync Speed (Line Rate)
Also known as Line Rate, the synchronisation (sync) speed is the speed at which your broadband modem or router communicates with the BT Exchange. This is always higher than the speed at which data will actually be downloaded over the connection. The sync rate is worked out by your phone line's characteristics, such as line length and quality. The shorter the line and the better the quality the faster the line will sync".