cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Current Line Speed Profile change?

theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hey there,
Me again, still no fibre but since the data extension cable was install my connection has become rather quick, must've been the extension Sky put in that was causing problems.

1. Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
Download  Speed
8.67 Mbps

0 Mbps 21 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Download speedachieved during the test was - 8.67 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 4 Mbps-21 Mbps.
IP Profile for your line is - 10.19 Mbps
2. Upstream Test: -provides background information.
Upload Speed
0.84 Mbps

0 Mbps 0.83 Mbps
Max Achievable Speed
Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.84Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 0.83 Mbps
Could someone change my current line speed to reflect what my BT IP profile is please.
Also is there anyway to get close to the 21Mb or will DLM do that?
Thanks and hopefully I'll wake up from a message from PN teling me to hook everything up as the fibre has been fixed.
23 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hi theograham1612,
I've just checked this and line tests show me that our profile is in line with BT's at 10100kbps (i.e just over 10mb)
Seeing that the estimate for 21CN for yourself is 7mb I'm not sure that would change.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hi Adam,
At the time of posting,  the current line speed was 9.2Mb
Is there any news from BT about getting my fibre optic yet?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hi there,
it sounds like your connection is working fairly close to the IP profile but let me know if it drops any further.
I've just chased up about the fibre order, I'll pop an update on ticket 81107701 shortly.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hi Adam,
Thanks will keep you updated.
I got your message on the help assistant but I don't understand why they have to install extra capacity considering the engineer told me that they hadn't installed any capacity.
Can you explain the last part or the message about a free engineer visit
Thanks
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Quote
Can you explain the last part or the message about a free engineer visit

Sure, it doesn't refer to a charge to yourself. It refers to an expedite on the order (i.e meaning you'd not have to wait as long as usual for an appointment to finish the installation) this is chargeable to us unless our suppliers say otherwise, which they have in your case.
Hope that explains it better.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hi Adam,
Thanks for explaining that for me.
So hopefully I could have fibre by next friday. Will the engineer need to come to the house again or can he activate me at the cabinet?
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

When I'm arranging an engineer can we make it a BT OR Broadband engineer please?
As I want him to try me on a different pairing at the telephone pole because my connection seems unstable as the download speed goes high but always drops after a couple of days
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 6,346
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 5
Registered: 26-11-2011

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

We'll do our best for you, however, we can't guarantee that the engineer won't be a sub-contractor I'm afraid.
The engineer that does attend should be able to deal with any installation queries/issues that you may have.
Chris Pettitt
Cloud Environments Engineer
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hey Chris,
The last guy was a sub contractor but they just don't have any enthusiasm, so my attitude towards him was basically I don't care, install everything and then get out.
But hopefully it'll be BT OR, that's if one is required.
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Any news from BT OR about my fibre optic?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hi theograham1612,
I'm having a look into this for you now and contacting our suppliers for a further update. I'll post any updates on ticket 81107701 for you.
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

I've popped an update on your ticket for you.
theograham1612
Grafter
Posts: 215
Registered: 04-09-2013

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

Hi Linn,
Just got it, am I being charged for fibre optic?
Plusnet Alumni (retired) LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: 03-02-2014

Re: Current Line Speed Profile change?

I've just popped another update on the ticket for you Smiley