cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Could a member of staff check this for me...

gavster
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎21-11-2007

Could a member of staff check this for me...

I have just come off the phone to Sky (they phoned offering a BB trail) The lad  on the phone has said that i am currently not recieving the maximum speed on my line bacause i have not been updated at the exchange.
At the minute i get aroung 1.5mb.  I called round to the house accross the road from me and also next doors to ask what speed they get, both of them get a minimum of 3.5mb.
Could someone check the status of my line/account/exchange to see why i have very slow speeds compared to other people in my street.
Thanks
19 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

If you have not been upgraded to MaxDSL you can make an immediate request from http://max.plus.net/ - it will cost you nothing.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Plusnet Alumni (retired) orbrey
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 10,540
Registered: ‎18-07-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Hi there,
You've been on Max since 2007-06-27 and have always hovered around 1mb - 2mb on your profile. If you want to improve this the quickest way is to ensure that the router is plugged into the master socket without any extension cables and also that all used phone sockets in your premises have filters.
If that's the case already then it's unlikely you'll get any faster speeds on your line, but if you post the line stats from your router we'll be able to advise further.
Hope that helps,
gavster
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎21-11-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Ok, thanks both.  I will double check all filters etc and post up my line stats asap.
What do you think was meant when he said "not been updated at the exchange"
At the end of the day i should be able to recieve the same speeds as my neighbours, so if you are saying this is a fault with the line wiring, should i request a BT engineer to test?
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Quote from: orbrey

You've been on Max since 2007-06-27

Which means that what Sky told you was complete and utter rubbish!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,729
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Make sure that your Sky box IS filtered. (Or unplugged from the phone line.)
Chilly
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,880
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Quote from: jelv
Quote from: orbrey

You've been on Max since 2007-06-27

Which means that what Sky told you was complete and utter rubbish!

Not necessarily - don't forget sky do upto 16mb broadband, it's quite possible the sky rep was talking about being placed onto sky's (easynet's) LLU equipment and generally confusing the matter...
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Ah yes, that is possible.
@gavster - what is the name of your exchange?
You could check this yourself: go to http://www.samknows.com/broadband/search.php and enter your telephone number. When you get to the results page look in the LLU operator presence box on the RHS to see if it says if Sky / Easynet is enabled.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Hi Gavster,
What the Sky guy told you is technically a load of cobblers.  not updated at the exchange? That makes absolutely no sense Smiley
As others have mentioned, he may have been trying to refer to the fact that you can get faster speeds on an ADSL2+ enabled line, which BT aren't offering as of yet.
I've tried to run a check on your line but as you are currently offline, I can't see anything.  Could you possibly reconnect to the internet for me?
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,901
Thanks: 593
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

If he is only getting 1.5mb on Max, will ADSL2+ seem much of an improvement!?!
Phil
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Possibly.
Possibly not.
It'll depend entirely on his line conditions, which is why I'd like to see them first.
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Has his exchange got Sky LLU?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

No Smiley
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,720
Thanks: 934
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

So that 100% confirms that what Sky told him was a load of cobblers - there is no way he hill get better speeds on Sky than he currently gets (or could get if there are problems with say his internal wiring which limit his speed).
In fact, if anything, it is far, far more likely that he might be able to improve his speed by staying put given the help of Plusnet and the people in here than if he moved to Sky and had to rely on their help!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
gavster
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎21-11-2007

Re: Could a member of staff check this for me...

Well, i phoned Sky back this morning and was told i couldnt get the service that was offered the night before as the service is not in my area yet, as people above have mentioned.
These are my line stats from a few minutes ago. (note: my sky box is plugged in to the filter at the minute and so drops to 1600kbps, this goes back upto 1768, once unplugged.)
Thanks for the help all the above Smiley